Eat Your Greens food blogging challenge: Avocado, Kale and Matcha Smoothie

Eat Your Greens challenge logo

This month I have entered the Eat Your Greens challenge set by Shaheen over at A2K- A Seasonal Veg Table.  The challenge requires you to prepare a dish (or beverage, or some kind of food) with green veggies.  All recipes must be vegetarian (vegan recipes are accepted too).

I joined the challenge quite late and it was good timing because my avocado and kale were looking a little sad and I’d also been wondering when I would start using the small tin of matcha I was given.  I’ve been hesitant to use it because, like yacon syrup, a small container is very expensive. So I prefer to sit and look at it.

I haven’t been having smoothies, green or any other colour, much lately because when I get up in the morning I’m so cold and immediately put the kettle on.  I don’t often have smoothies during the day, for me they’re pretty much always a breakfast thing.

Avocado Matcha Banana Protein Smoothie

For the Eat Your Greens challenge, I knew it was time to break out the smoothie love again. I didn’t follow a recipe, I just threw in the following based on smoothie combinations I usually make:

– 1 cup home made almond milk

– 1 banana

– 1 scoop vanilla protein powder (maybe half a scoop if you don’t like too much protein powdery taste)

– 1/4 tsp matcha powder

– a few kale leaves, torn (if using baby spinach, I add a big handful.  With kale, I use much less)

– 1/2 avocado

For me, the sweetness was just right because my banana was spotty. If the banana wasn’t as sweet, I would have added one Medjool date.

 

I’m glad I chose this for the challenge as it made me realise how much I miss my breakfast smoothies!

8 thoughts on “Eat Your Greens food blogging challenge: Avocado, Kale and Matcha Smoothie

  1. Great idea for the Eat Your Greens event. We had smoothies last week because we had an old banana to use and it was really nice – sylvia loved it and drank it quickly for her (I don’t do greens when sharing with her as that is one step too far but I love oats and chia seeds in mine).. I need to eat a bit more fruit – haven’t been that inspired by apples as haven’t been to farmers market for some weeks now – might go on saturday though it might rain (interested?)

  2. I know that feeling of just sitting back and looking at expensive ingredients 🙂 It doesn’t work so well when you move countries! This looks like a great smoothie to break into the matcha for, and I love the vibrant colour.

    • I have to start using the yacon syrup, the price is preventing me from opening it. I also bought chlorella ages ago and it’s horrible, now I have to force myself to add it to smoothies then block my nose when I drink!

  3. Oh you made me smile and reminded me a little of me too, when you wrote ‘I’ve been hesitant to use it because, like … a small container is very expensive. So I prefer to sit and look at it’. I do very much the smae, and before I know it its reached its sell you dates, and guess what I do have a tin of matcha powder, unopened – better check the date!

    Thank you so much for your lovely entry for Eat Your Greens, I’ve only ever had green matcha latte, but never a smoothie, so may try this soon – just need to get an avocado and some kale.

I've moved to www.veganopoulous.com ! Please go there :)

