Lunch at The Vegie Bar in Fitzroy

The Vegie Bar seems to be one of those places that everyone I know, veggo or not, has visited at some point.  I’m a latecomer to this party (again) so when my sister said she had a day off and would take me out to lunch and to choose a place, Vegie Bar was that place.

I’ve been in to the Vegie Bar on a busy weekend at dinner time to pick up a dessert but hadn’t eaten in there. It has always been very crowded with quite a wait, so I haven’t bothered. This time however, just before lunch, it was just right. I looooved these retro green swivel chairs:

vegiebar5

My sister and I chose an entree each, though we always share what we order therefore we never order the same thing (we call this The System, which my husband completely dishonours, saying that if you want to try something just order that meal.  NO, Husband.  No.  If you follow The System, you get to try MORE things.  Especially good when you can’t decide between two dishes. It’s not double dipping or picking off plates, because you take your portion from the other person’s meal before putting saliva on your eating utensils).  My sister chose the gyoza dumplings.  These were okay, a bit light on the filling though:

vegiebar4

I chose the roti channai which was a potato lentil dhal with roti.  This was okay but the green on the side was just undressed salad leaves (and some were manky and slimy):

vegiebar3

For the main, my sister chose the Mee Goreng (tossed with tofu, veggies and potato).  We both hadn’t had a satay sauce kind of dish in a long time so this was a clear first pick.  The meal tasted pretty good, but we felt there could have been more tofu:

vegiebar2

I ordered the Sindhi curry with butter beans (and other veg) that was up on the specials board. We both agreed it was okay but probably wouldn’t order it again:

vegiebar1

My sister got the Immunity juice, made with carrot, ginger, apple and orange. We loved this as it was really heavy on the ginger.  Perfect!

Service was friendly and quick and although I braced myself for our meals taking a while, they came out fairly quickly. I do see why Vegie Bar is considered a favourite among many, but I felt that because the juice was the best thing we ordered, I wouldn’t rush back.  I would go again one day, as there were lots of other meals on the menu that sounded pretty good.

vegiebar6

The Vegie Bar is located at 380 Brunswick Street in Fitzroy. http://vegiebar.com.au/

Vegie Bar on Urbanspoon

9 thoughts on “Lunch at The Vegie Bar in Fitzroy

  1. oh shame you weren’t keen – I think the vegie bar pre-dates a lot of the veg cafes – so it used to be exciting to have such a range of choices – I went them occasionally when I lived in Fitzroy – the most memorable dish is the chocolate cake which I don’t think is vegan but I had it a few months ago and it was so so good and then I realised it was already lunchtime and I should have ordered lunch but I was too full.

    • I’ve had the raw berry cake thingy which was really amazingly good and there were some other vegan desserts that looked great. If I go past I’d probably stop in to pick up something sweet!

  2. OBVIOUSLY the System makes sense! My boyfriend can almost always be talked into the system, though he often states that ‘well if I choose the better dish I might not want to share it with you!’ – rarely holds up though.

    Sorry to hear your Vegie Bar experience was a bit lacking. I usually find them pretty good and reliable – though not outstanding. I don’t really go for evening meals there either as it is crazy busy all the time! Arghhh!

  3. It is a pity you didn’t like the dishes you ordered. I’ve always found most things at the VB pretty tasty though not fine dining obviously. As for a husband that doesn’t participate in “The System”…almost grounds for divorce! 🙂

  4. I have had mixed experiences with the food at the Vegie Bar – sometimes terrific, sometimes just OK, occasionally disappointing – so I guess your post fits in with that too. I generally find that it’s pretty good value for money, at least!

I've moved to www.veganopoulous.com ! Please go there :)

