Soy Beans and Nuts Master class with Green Renters

Today I attended a fab master class workshop put on by Cate and Chris of Green Renters. I’ve never made my own tofu, or the numerous cheeses I planned to make when I purchased vegan cheese cookbooks a long time ago.  Same with vegan yoghurt, I always meant to make it (I even bought a yoghurt maker on sale… which isn’t necessary for making vegan yoghurt) but felt a bit too information-overloaded when I’d look up different vegan yoghurt making websites.   So I thought that for my first efforts, I’d prefer to have an expert show me.

We started off with making tofu.  Soy beans were cooked up and then strained/drained but the strained liquid is what you want, not the actual mooshy beany part (which can be used for other things):

tofumaking1

tofumaking2

tofumaking4b

tofumaking3

tofumaking4

tofumaking5

tofumaking6

tofumaking7

tofumaking8

tofumaking9

tofumaking10

Next up was almond milk. Retro blender!!!

retroalmondmilk

Coconut bacon on the stove (I’ve made mine in the oven before), with liquid smoke, tamari and molasses (I’ve used maple syrup in the past but I liked the molasses):

coconutbacon

Vegan butters, oh my:

veganbutter1

veganbutter2

Some vegan butters Cate brought along:

veganbutters

We split up in to small groups and made a variety of different cheeses.  My little group, which included Linda from The Lentil Institution, made a mozarella, which I put in the fridge there and forgot to take home:

veganmozarella

One of the cheeses made by another couple in the class:

vegancheese1

I’ll need to go over the instructions for the yoghurt again but here is some barley and quinoa a-sproutin’:

yoghurt1

Apple cider vinegar added to soy milk to make it curdle:

yoghurt2

 

These vegan yoghurts were used in the process:

yoghurt3

We had to give these a shake and now at home it still hasn’t really appeared to work unfortunately!

yoghurt4

Kitchen hustle-bustle:

tofunutsworkshop1

Cate and Chris provided an awesome feast.  For morning tea there were Portugese custard tarts and a banana cake with a cashew icing.  Yes I asked for a second tart and I was very tempted to ask for more cake but I think I may have wound up on some blogs, in the context of  “I met Veganopoulous and man WHAT a greedy guts”:

morningtea

Anyway, below is a coconut peppery cheese on the left and a basil pesto cheese on the right:

greenrenterscheese

greenrenterslunch1

greenrenterslunch2

greenrenterslunch3

greenrenterslunch4

Some really, really good bread.  Made even better when Cate said she would send me the recipe and it’s no-knead.  I love it more already:

greenrenterslunch5

My plate.  It looks polite and demure but I went back for way more bread and the cheeses (which you see on the bread).  That Veganopoulous, mannn what a greedy guts:

greenrenterslunch6

And then 4pm rolled around a little too quickly. My bus stop was nearby and although it was a pleasant day, my icy hands and ears were not impressed to see I missed the bus by five minutes and I had a forty minute wait for the next one.  Silly Sunday timetables:
waitingforbus

While sitting on the bench at the bus stop, I saw this sign on the footpath.  From a distance, I was saying to myself “why did they spell school as scool? Are they trying to be all totes cool with the lingo? Appeal to the kids with the whacky spelling? And if so, why did they spell school correctly in the bottom triangle?”  So I was sitting there doing armchair psychology on the person who came up with this sign, then when I got up to take the photo I realised the second triangle doesn’t actually refer to the word ‘school’.  That Veganopoulous, man what a whiner:

walkschool

 

Here are today’s efforts now safely at home (minus the mozarella and my Tupperware).  Also missing from the cheese-butter platter photo is a red capsicum cheese one of the other couples made.  Because I dropped it right before taking this photo.  So here it is, cleaned up a bit but still not edible:

droppedcheese

butterandcheese

I’m very glad I went, everything was great and I’m now super confident about going off in to the wild to make my own tofu, cheeses, butter spreads and yoghurt!

walkhome

19 thoughts on “Soy Beans and Nuts Master class with Green Renters

    • Sharp cheddar was my favourite! I also liked one of the lemony white cheeses (can’t remember which one). The red pepper one was nice while it lasted here, before I dropped it. nice to meet you too, that was pretty funny! I wonder if any other bloggers are going to the next one!

      • I bet it was the fetta. That was my second favourite, and it was pretty lemony. Looking forward to getting the recipes so I can try them out. Checked the calendar and I don’t think I can make the next one, so I’ll be relying on you for a full report!

        • ah yes, the feta! My yoghurt hasn’t set properly unfortunately! I’ll definitely do the full report of the roast master class (I’m really looking forward to morning tea and lunch!)

  1. Sounds like an interesting workshop – I keep telling myself I will get into the tofu making – have done it with a friend years ago and it was amazing – even the by-products are really good – but more likely to do the cheese stuff as I have tried a few and enjoy them – though I think I prefer vegan cheese sauces than the hard stuff. I would love to find a good vegan yoghurt recipe as I am yet to find one that I like from the commercial ones I have tried. (I am quite tempted by the roast class!)

  2. “I met Veganopoulous and man WHAT a greedy guts”! I sure am glad to know that I’m not the only person to take seconds after I’ve photographed a plate 😉

  3. That class looks so great! I really regret missing out… I think Cate and Chris are leaving Melbourne pretty soon. Lucky new city that will benefit from their expertise.

I've moved to www.veganopoulous.com ! Please go there :)

