Panzerotti Shop, Melbourne

Today I discovered what I think could easily be my favourite quick vegan meal in the city.  From  here:

panzerottishop3

Behold, the Panzerotti Shop! I only very recently heard about this shop and as I was in the city today I knew I had to try it and report back here.  The panzerotti are savoury filled pastries (there are a couple of sweet ones available too) catering to omnis, vegetarians and vegans.  Vegans are extremely well looked after!  There was a list of ingredients on the counter for the vegan panzerotti and I had one custom made.  I went for (let’s see if I remember) olives, spinach, vegan sausage, vegan cheese, onions… and I can’t remember what else, for $6.50.  Other fillings included tofu, corn, lentils and even more I can’t remember. Anyway, this was one of the most delicious (even the most delicious) savoury pastries I have ever had. I even held it up to get a bit of Melbourne in the background. Passers by were treated to a crazy woman holding a pastry up in the air with one hand and trying to take photos with her phone on the other:

panzerottishop2

This was so good I didn’t bother walking around finding somewhere to sit and eat.  I stood there near some milk crates and went for it. I might have airbrushed this photo to remove the hideous half-disappeared manicure:

panzerottishop1

My panzerotti was so good that I was very tempted to go back and try another, even though one is enough.  You know that scene in Charlie and the Chocolate Factory where Charlie finds a coin in the snow and goes to buy some chocolate and the shop keeper says “careful sonny, you’ll give yourself a stomach ache”?  I think that’s what it would have been like if I went back in.

Service was great and very helpful.  I love that vegans have a specific listing of ingredients and that we’re not made to feel like we’re a nuisance.  Quite the opposite really, you’ll see what I mean when you read the menu page on Panzerotti Shop’s website!

The Panzerotti Shop is located at 289 Flinders Lane, Melbourne. It’s a small shop with no seating– just order at the counter and wait for your pastry delight!

My day also involved a short stroll through the Fitzroy Gardens:

fitzroygardens

Then a walk down Collins Street on the way home:

melbourne1

melbourneflowers

 

I’m now trying to find an excuse to go back in to the city and try another panzerotti.  Fellow vegans, have you tried it?  I love hearing about city food places that aren’t your more well known vegan haunts!

Panzerotti on Urbanspoon

9 thoughts on “Panzerotti Shop, Melbourne

  1. So beautiful post! Maybe, I think that panzerotti are an Italian food! 🙂 isn’t it? I’ll arrive soon in Australia and I must visit Melbourne, I’d like to taste and try panzerotti. Your photos are so beautiful, compliments!

  2. I saw panzerotti today! I would never have guessed that they had so many vegan options – I will have to try next time. And I looove the colour of autumn leaves on the ground (or do we call them winter leaves now?) Either way – so pretty.

  3. Oh thanks for this post – this place looks incredible! After reading the menu, I see what you mean about vegans not being made to feel like a nuisance! I can’t wait to go there – sadly I wouldn’t make it there and back in my half hour lunch break…well, not if I also wanted to eat.

I've moved to www.veganopoulous.com ! Please go there :)

