What I Ate: the Healthier Weightlossier edition

A little while back, I blogged about needing to lose a bit of weight.  Make that a lot of weight!  5kg (11lbs) for starters, seeing as that’s what I’ve put on after getting down to a weight I hadn’t seen in a very very long time over a year ago!

This week I am right back in to my oil-free cooking and avoiding stuff like bread and pasta.  I’m also going for more wholefoods and minimising processed foods.  Fats are also cut waaay down so I am mindful of things like nuts, seeds and usage of coconut oil.  As much as I don’t like the cooking sprays, I am using a very short burst of olive oil spray for oven cooking but keeping that to zero as much as possible.  I don’t find this restrictive in any way, fortunately!

Here’s a look at what I’ve eaten this week.  I have retained only a little of the muscle mass I gained when heavy weight training over a year ago (boy does it hurt my pride to flex and see no more guns) so I’m trying to keep an eye on protein intake so I don’t shrivel away entirely…

bugsbicep

I started on Monday and today is the following Monday morning .  So in one week, I am down  1.5kg (3.3lbs).  I haven’t exercised, apart from one gym workout as a trial.  I have injuries in both feet and should avoid weight bearing and impact exercises like jogging.  Not fun when you want to lose weight, so I’ll be checking out exercise bike hire to get some HIIT happening.

So, these are some of the things I’ve eaten.  Of course, it’s not everything but I’m guessing you will all get sick of me photographing bananas and the same bowl of soup because I made enough for four days then went nuts because I hate leftovers after the second day…

Smoothie with unsweetened plant milk, banana, spinach, pepitas, hemp protein:

bananahempsmoothie

A bowl of vegetable and cannellini bean soup (there are also some red lentils floating around but not enough, so I threw in the beans for a protein boost).  Days worth of this:

beanveg

When I went for my haircut, I made a double serve of a breakfast smoothie so I could take some with me, seeing as a) I was at the hair salon for a couple of hours at least and b) I was near Crumbs Bakery, with their vegan pastries and donuts.  DANGER. This smoothie has spinach, banana, blueberries, hemp protein, flax:

blueberrysmoothie

Chickpea scramble made with broccoli, tomato, kale, lemon juice and lots of savoury yeast with my mum’s peas and carrots (cooked with onion and a little tomato paste) on the side:

lunch

Smoothie with hemp protein, flax, fresh mint, banana. As I was making it I was thinking “I’ve missed something, I just know it”… turns out it was the spinach.  I add spinach to all my smoothies.  Except this one:

bananahempsmoothie

Pan Seared Garlic Tofu from The Oh She Glows Cookbook, cooked in my new cast iron frying pan.  Oh my goodness, crispy tofu without using stacks of oil! I served this with the roast cauliflower (with a spritz of oil spray) and the miso tahini dressing from the Isa Does It recipe for the Roasty Soba Bowl.  Instead of soba I went for the last of the broccoli and some chickpea scramble.  YUM.  I had it again quite a few times:

misotahinivegtofuAlthough I enjoy smoothies for a quick easy breakfast, I decided to try pancakes.  AHA! I hear you say.  Pancakes on a diet?  Oh Veganopoulous, you crazy kid! Well!  I made the blueberry pancakes from Brendan Brazier’s Thrive nutrition book.  These are made with buckwheat flour, cooked quinoa, hemp milk, water, blueberries, salt, two dates, baking powder and baking soda.  You mix up the batter in a food processor.  They’re not the most attractive of pancake colours but they’re super healthy.  The recipe makes two large servings.  I had mine with a small sliced banana and home made applesauce (I just stewed some apples in a little water then pureed it all.  No sweetener).  The banana and applesauce did well as a ‘syrup’ seeing as I’ve waved goodbye to my beloved maple syrup for now.  This breakfast really filled me up and I was stuffed by the last couple of forkfuls so next time I’d make these as three smaller servings:

thriveblueberrypancakes

Another smoothie from Thrive, this one made with hemp, flax, pumpkin seed, banana, orange, ground cloves:
ironsmoothie

We visited my parents on Good Friday and my mum had made Greek lentil soup and added in some kale I took over.  Being Good Friday she didn’t use olive oil so I was pleased to have a nice bowl of oil free lentil soup.  Called “faki” in Greek, pronounced “fu-KI” and enough to earn me detention after the home ec teacher asked what I ate for dinner and I answered honestly:

faki

I made another Brendan Brazier Thrive recipe, this time the Black Bean Lime Salsa.  I love this! black beans, tomato, onion (which I left out), fresh coriander, balsamic vinegar, hemp oil, lime juice.  I moosh mine up in the food processor even though you’re supposed to just mix them together.  Here I have it served with the last of my roast cauliflower steaks:

blackbeansalsa

I haven’t featured any Easter gatherings here as I haven’t been to any.  We have a belated Easter lunch with my parents, sister and brother in law today so I’ll be blogging about that very soon.  This year I said I’d make hot cross buns with the kids but really, we’ve had so many store bought ones in the house that my dad insists on buying for us, that I am just well over them and I think Arthur and DeeW have consumed more than enough without needing to add to the count!

Although I ate the same things many times, it doesn’t bother me much now.  See, I’m a person who hates leftovers after day two.  I get BORED to the point where I would rather not eat than eat leftovers AGAIN.  I’m a bit of a princess like that.  On the third day I wanted to cry, in that whiny #firstworldproblem manner, when I realised I still had more bean-veg soup to eat.  Yea verily Veganopoulous, get over it! For day 4 I felt better about it because it certainly helps knowing what I will be eating, without having to worry about coming up with something new every day or two.  It makes for boring blog entries though!

 

This past week I’ve been playing and re-playing the new single by Tori Amos called ‘Trouble’s Lament’.  I can’t get enough of it!  I’m a looong time fan but the last couple of albums didn’t really jump out and grab me like all the rest.  But this song just kapowed me in the face!  If you’re a long time fan too, you might also be kapowed by the different sound she takes here.  Before I sat down to listen I was wondering how different, though familiar, it would be to her past albums and I wasn’t expecting this.  I’m looooving the percussion and guitars.  Kapow!

17 thoughts on “What I Ate: the Healthier Weightlossier edition

    • I find the hardest part is not to give in to indulgence cravings after 7pm, just sniffing around the kitchen and fridge sortof thing which is what I do a lot of 😛 I bought some shorts last summer which fit fine, this summer they wouldn’t button up so I had to do something. I’m very lazy though and hate cardio, which is what I really need to be doing right now, but mehhhhh!

  1. All looks great – I guess the family are eating other stuff – I made two batches of hot cross buns and we still have some store bought ones I put in the freezer when I started to bake some – feels like they are neverending and I have eaten far too many. Love the scramble and peas and the bowl of goodness and the soups – and I love leftovers – was so pleased to have some last night after easter feast because I was ready to collapse. Good luck with your healthy eating – looks very impressive

    • Thanks! Yep I had every intention of baking HCBs this year but every time my dad would visit, or we’d go to their place, he’d always buy some and I got so sick of them! Yep the fam are eating different stuff, which makes things pretty difficult and frustrating at times!

  2. Oh man – this post reminds me…I gotta lose some weight! Did really well about a year ago, lost 10kg, ran 10km etc. Since then? Ummm…nothing! It’s been heaps easier to put that weight back on (and then some) than it was to lose it. Being homeless is not helping, but when we do have a house, watch out waistline!!!

  3. I’ve had a pretty indulgent eat-out-lots week due to a busy schedule, but I need to get back on track this week! Your meals look delicious – not like you’re missing out on anything at all! I especially like the look of the broccoli bowl!

  4. Wow, you’re doing a great job with your weight loss! I was doing well, but have hit a plateau about a kilo short of what the physio wants me to get down to. Doh! Very frustrating…but I know why it’s happened – Easter eggs and hot cross buns. I can’t be sensible at this time of year. Maybe now that Easter’s over I’ll be able to get back to it. My daughter made a HUGE pot of soup yesterday, and I find if I eat soup for one meal a day it keeps things under control a bit (as long as I can resist having it with loads of bread). Tomorrow will be day three of soup leftovers – happily I don’t cry about leftover soup. (anything else, maybe I would, but I love soup.)

  5. I would happily go on a “diet” if you would cook all this awesome stuff for me. 😉 Looks sooo good. I don’t have any Brendan Brazier books. I’d like to try some of his recipes. I need to clean out the fridge and stock up with some healthy goods now. We haven’t been eating well this week!

I've moved to www.veganopoulous.com ! Please go there :)

