Lunch today at Invita Living Food at the Queen Victoria Market

Yay for haircuts!  Especially when you haven’t had one in over a year.  Today I headed down to North Melbourne to get about two hundred kilograms worth of boofy hair cut off (more like six inches but boy my head feels lighter).  After that I went for a short walk down to the Queen Vic Market to pick up a bunch of coriander.  I also thought I’d go and check out Invita Living Food, as I’ve been past it many times without realising I could actually find healthy vegan food in there.

Initially, I was just going to browse and not buy anything but one of the menu items caught my eye: the rice ball.  The description on the menu board (which is different to the description on the website) was ‘rice balls, corn carrot, zucchini, coriander, sea weed, tamari, ginger juice, lemon juice, olive oil, rice crumbs, tapioca starch’.  Gluten free, vegan, full of good healthy stuff.  I think it cost $14.60.   I asked if it was fried in oil and the staff person told me it was baked. The rice ball sure sounded better than my plain bean and veggie soup that was waiting at home!  My stomach was growling, it was another half hour before I’d be home and so I thought why not?  It’s a beautiful day!  Phone photos, sorry!

invita3

The rice ball was pretty big though I was a bit surprised the inside was quite mooshy and for a while I wondered if it was undercooked but I guess with those ingredients, it’s a mooshy ball.  I took a pic but you can’t really make it out:

invita2

I figured I’d eat it, blog about it and see what readers think!  I liked it regardless of the mooshy factor but my favourite part of the meal was the eggplant chickpea salad on the side.  This was really tasty. The serving of quinoa with some veg and lentils mixed through was okay.  There was a little bit of chutney too, I tried it and it was a peanut satay kind of flavour.  It was sweet though and as I’ve cut out sugars/sweet food (apart from fruit), I put this to the side.  Only after I’d emptied a sachet of sugar over it to stop me being tempted to eat a bit more…

There were vegan desserts on display, alas I took a photo that didn’t turn out.  Plus I didn’t want to linger too much around the dessert display, seeing as I’m not eating sweet stuff!  Invita also serve juices, shepherd’s pie, lasagna, a tofu burger (no bun is mentioned) and other savoury breakfast and lunch items.  I very much enjoyed sitting under the marquee listening to the hustle-bustle market sounds and the ding dings of the trams!  All while flipping my new ‘do around.

farah

invita1

Invita Living Food is located at 76 Therry Street, near the Vic Market jam donut van and the organic fruit and veg section.

8 thoughts on “Lunch today at Invita Living Food at the Queen Victoria Market

  1. oh my goodness you look just like farrah fawcett with that haircut (joke – and I probably misspelt her name)

    I have been to invita a few times – I like their food but don’t love it – but at least it feel so much healthier than a lot of things you could eat while out and about – and I agree you feel good watching the bustle of the market – makes me wonder why it seems like ages since I have been – I miss my favourite apple stall

    • I think the people watching bit is what makes a meal sometimes. I lived in the Netherlands and all the chairs outside face the street in a line. Which I found really strange at first but then again my grandparents always sat on their front porch in the ‘burbs!

    • my head feels much lighter 🙂 Yep I do think the rice ball was a bit pricey because the salady things on the side were kinda the bare minimum and looking at my photo, I can’t believe I didn’t comment on the one piece of tomato and measly lettuce leaf!

I've moved to www.veganopoulous.com ! Please go there :)

