Melbourne International Flower and Garden Show, 2014

Yesterday my mum and I went to the Melbourne International Flower and Garden Show.  Mum loves all things flowers and gardens so off we went.  Our plan was to spend a few hours there, then walk down to Shakahari in Carlton for lunch but alas, time flew too quickly as we tiptoed through the tulips (remember: I was told I looked like Tiny Tim when I was young…. tiptoeing through tulips has been traumatic ever since) and we had to leave at 2pm.  As expected, there were zero vegan food options from the food outlets that were set up so I took along some chia muffins that kept me full.  There was a place serving soups and perhaps may have been vegan but I wasn’t in a soup mood so I didn’t bother asking.

This is mostly a photo heavy post.  It was a lovely sunny day and I was so pleased to see leaves are already changing colour because I love autumn.  The event was held at the Royal Exhibition Building and Carlton gardens:

exhibitionfountain1

flowershow1

flowershow2

 

Kale!!!

flowershow3

flowershow4

flowershow5

I loved this hanging basket full of herbs n stuff.  I’ve been playing around with ideas for my own herb garden but I might go hanging baskets instead:

flowershow6

flowershow7

 

flowershow8

flowershow24

flowershow9

This was my favourite.  I wanted to steal it:

flowershow11

flowershow12

flowershow13

flowershow14

flowershow15

flowershow16

flowershow17

My kind of Easter egg:

flowershow18

flowershow19

flowershow20

flowershow21

flowershow22

flowershow23

We walked around for hours admiring so much beautiful stuff.  I bought some some plant based soaps (five decent sized bars for $15) made with sustainable palm oil.  I also bought some lavender that can be used in cooking.  Mum bought a few plant cuttings.  She had a good day and got to meet one of the presenters (Jason, who does the landscaping) from Better Homes and Gardens.  I took a photo, I think she’ll make it her desktop wallpaper now.

flowershow10

The Melbourne International Flower and Garden Show is on until March 30th. Vegans: take your own snacks!  http://melbflowershow.com.au/

6 thoughts on “Melbourne International Flower and Garden Show, 2014

  1. looks amazing – I love all the plant sculptures – always think this garden show is just flower beds but it looks so much more – re your soup comment – I wanted some soup in a food hall the other day and not one place sold soup – I was most displeased so am pleased to hear they sold it at the flower show

    • some of the plant sculptures were amazing, I loved the bed with all the rows of flowers for a blanket. Most of the food stalls were the same kinds of things you see at events, like fish and chips, gozleme, grilled stuff. They did have baked potatoes but everything had butter and I didn’t want to queue to end up with a plain potato!

  2. Everything is so pretty! I’m glad you and your mum had a good time together. We are still looking at snow here. It’s starting to melt and leaving lots of filth in its place. I can’t wait until it’s warm enough to get out on the driveway and hose it off! Have a happy weekend! Jo

  3. Ah no! I can’t look! I get so overwhelmed with gardening advice (coming from a family of mad gardeners) that it makes me want to run away and curl up in the foetal position. Needless to say, we didn’t go to the Garden Show this year. Looks like you had a great time though. Last year, we stopped off at Trippy Taco for lunch and Margaritas on the way home. 🙂

I've moved to www.veganopoulous.com ! Please go there :)

