Orange-Oat Muffins from Naturally Sweet & Gluten-Free

Ricki Heller’s Naturally Sweet & Gluten-Free is one of my favourite cookbooks.  It’s quite dangerous too though, if like me you are in love with the marbled halva.  Because for me it is an extreme sport not to eat it all in one go.  Whenever I’ve made the marbled halva, it goes something like this: make mixture.  Eat a fair bit of it before refrigerating. Get it out of the fridge to “trim the edges juuust a little” long before it has set. Eat most of it. If you’ve made it for visitors, you have to make something else at the last minute because marbled halva has significantly shrunk.

I like to make baked treats for the family, especially to freeze and then use as snacks.  Usually we eat most of the stuff before I freeze it.  Anyway, when it comes to baking I really don’t like using wheat flour so much, instead preferring things like buckwheat and barley. I make the odd baked treat now and then with spelt or regular flour, depending on the recipe.

On to the muffins.  These were a hit with Arthur in particular.  I was surprised because for me, millet leaves an aftertaste in my mouth (which isn’t necessarily unpleasant) and DeeW won’t eat anything made with millet flour so I guess the aftertaste bothers her. I really liked the muffins too and will make them again as a snack for Arthur and myself.  The muffins are made with orange and oats (naaaatch), flax, prunes, sunflower oil, coconut sugar, blackstrap molasses, stevia, psyllium husks, plant milk, Ricki’s All Purpose GF Flour Mix, and other regular muffiny things.  Tasty muffins meet hideous photography:

orange gf muffins

I’m very much looking forward to trying more baked treats by Ricki.

9 thoughts on “Orange-Oat Muffins from Naturally Sweet & Gluten-Free

  1. I feel the same about Ricki’s halva – which is probably why I don’t make it so often but have been thinking I need to revisit this book soon – I quite like ricki’s gf all purpose flour mix – your muffins look wholesome (and I mean that in a nice way)

    • I polished off the halva once all by myself because we were supposed to have people over and they had to cancel. It’s just so addictive, I don’t add the coconut nectar to the chocolate bit because it’s sweet enough for me but oh my goodness, I eat half of it before it even goes in the fridge.

I've moved to www.veganopoulous.com ! Please go there :)

