Two more raw dishes: Cauliflower Popcorn and Veggie Tempura

I’ve previously made the Cauliflower Popcorn from ‘Eat Raw, Eat Well’.  I liked it a lot but found it a little on the salty side, so this time ’round I only added a pinch of salt.  The cauliflower is tossed with nutritional yeast, EVOO and the salt then dehydrated.  Then it is major yumz time as you try not to eat it all in one go.  I’m cheating and using a photo I took last time:

cauliflower popcorn

The Vegetable Tempura recipe from Ani Phyo’s ‘Ani’s Raw Food Asia’ has had a permanent bookmark in it ever since I received my copy of the book.  The batter is made with zucchini, cashews, pumpkin seed, olive oil, salt and nutritional yeast and on its own would make a tasty salad dressing.  Get your veggies, smother them in this batter then dehydrate. The cauliflower on top is the Popcorn Cauli:

raw veggie tempura

This was good too, though I wouldn’t make it again unless I had people to serve it to who would appreciate it!  I just realised I forgot to make the accompanying dipping sauce.  Never mind, it tasted good plain.  I’m not sure I dehydrated it enough as the batter wasn’t quite right, but had I done any more the vegies would have been over dehydrated.  They had a nice crunch to them so I didn’t mind!

Have you made cauliflower with nooch, olive oil and salt in the dehydrator?  What do you think of it?

I've moved to www.veganopoulous.com ! Please go there :)

