Week 3 Meal Planning: the Heat Wave + Angelina Ballerina + Lego Show version

This past week Melbourne has suffered through a heat wave with temps over 40C. I think some horrible-hot-weather records were broken, like hottest consecutive days in over one hundred years or something. Stinky stinky stinking hot. To give you an idea, the temperature here in Melbourne reached 44C twice. That’s 111.2F. I really dislike hot weather. Give me autmumn-winter any day! I was sooo happy when this heat wave ended, as you can probably imagine! It’s nice and cool as we speak, with a decent temp of 24C (75.2F) today.

Because it was so hot, I chose meals that wouldn’t involve the oven. However because it was so hot, I fell in to full on Can’t Be Bothered Because It’s Too Hot mode.

– I made the Thai Style Yellow Curry from Veganissimo! for myself. This made about four or five meal size serves for me, with rice:

Thai style yellow curry from Veganissimo!

– 43 degress, urgh. Arthur and DeeW asked for rye toast for breakfast. I had a smoothie with frozen banana, almonds, pumpkin seeds, hemp protein and lucuma:

Banana lucuma smoothie

– one of my favourite smoothies is quite simple: frozen banana, almonds, cinnamon, soy milk, hemp protein:

Almond banana hemp smoothie

– another favourite smoothie has frozen banana, raw cacao, soy milk and tahini. I loooove chocolate and tahini:

Chocolate Tahini Smoothie

– I love chocolate with tahini so much that I mix with with raw cacao powder and maple syrup to make a spread:

chocolate tahini spread

– I made the Ancho Lentil meat from Isa Does It, though I used chipotle powder instead of ancho as I didn’t have ancho. I had this in a burrito with lettuce, corn and home made guacamole. I had quite a few of these during the week:

Burrito with lentil 'meat' from Isa Does It

– I made some strawberry and banana soft serve in my blender. Not the Yonanas, because when I’d frozen my strawberries I had forgotten to take the leaves off and I think you have to have all the stem and leaves off if you use the Yonanas:

strawberry banana softserve

– I used the leftovers to make these icy poles (popsicles, in other parts of the world):

strawberry banana softserve icy poles

– I made the Ranch Salad with Potatoes and Chickpeas from Isa Does It.  More yummmz and I used kale for my leafy greens (which is not in the recipe):

Ranch Salad from Isa Does It

– I consider myself lucky to have found firm, cheap mangoes.  They’re usually so expensive:

mango

Some time ago, I purchased tickets for DeeW and I to see the Angelina Ballerina stage musical.  Or as they say, Mousical.  Har har. Of all days, the temp was 44C.  I had booked tickets for the 10:30am show and Husband kindly offered to drive us in, hang around the city with Arthur for an hour (eating) and then picking us up right outside the Gallery and driving home.  It was such a relief not to have to catch public transport there and back in the heat. I loved this little plaque on the seat in front of me:

gorgeous seat plaque

The curtain:
angelinaballerinastage1

DeeW loved the performance.  Me?  Welllll the dancing bits were all out of unison, legs not being extended properly, the lifts not executed cleanly.  Does that make me sound like I know what I’m talking about?  It’s what they used to say on season one of So You Think You Can Dance Australia.  I’d like to say one of the dancers committed the greatest sin of touching the floor DURING AN ARABESQUE.  But there were no arabesques that I recall.  Still, the kids loved it all though I never understand why there has to be parts where the main character is really upset and crying.  Because around me, DeeW and other kids were really upset.  And some may argue kids have to learn blah blah blah lessons in life blah blah.  But ya know, they’re going to learn those lessons from family and life.  Not really from their favourite character, in a live show with all those distractions, having a meltdown (by the way, I really can’t stand the tv show.  But DeeW loves ballet):

angelinaballerinastage2

Currently in Melbourne we have the Play Me I’m Yours ‘exhibition’ going on.  Twenty four pianos are on the street around the city and you can go and play them:

Play Me I'm Yours at National Gallery

streetpiano1

On Saturday, we went to the Brickvention Lego show.  I blogged about last year’s visit.  The amount of work people put in to their creations is staggering. There were a few people in costume walking around:

Lego Brickvention Melbourne Exhibition Building 2014

legoshow11

legoshow10

legoshow1

legoshow2

I loved this.  It’s referencing the 007 exhibition on at the Museum:

James Bond 007 Lego mosaics

Vintage Lego from when I was young:

Vintage Lego

Star Wars is always popular:

legoshow4

Star Wars Lego

Star Wars Lego

There were longer tables set up with trains that ran around the edges:

lego Brickvention Melbourne

legoshow6

legoshow7

legoshow8

Sydney Op… you know what this is!

legoshow13

And that’s it!  It’s been quiet here on the blog front because in the hot weather, the last thing I want to do is be on my computer in the hot study.  This week, I think I’ll just chill out and enjoy the better weather 🙂

13 thoughts on “Week 3 Meal Planning: the Heat Wave + Angelina Ballerina + Lego Show version

  1. Yes Horrid weather – we went to angelina the mousical and I thought it quite dull (Sylvia enjoyed it) – I really dislike how they hammer home all the silly gender stereotypes. It was really hot on the day we went and we got PT and the first train we got into was defective and then they changed another train to be ours. Love the lego and the Isa Does It meals – think this might be on my list of books to buy

    • I cringed most of the way through Angelina but especially on the way home when I got suckered in to buying DeeW one of those purple streamer pompom things. Isa Does It is really good 🙂

  2. Wasn’t that weather a killer! It’s hard to do anything at all when it’s that hot. I hope we don’t get another spell like that this summer. By the way, I love your tahini/chocolate spread – I must try that! We also had a meal of the Ancho Lentil Meat from Isa Does It. It’s just the thing for hot weather. And you just reminded me I have a mango in the fridge. Yay!

  3. Oh yes I hate the hot weather too & never feel like cooking much either. I think I lived on vegie burgers for most of the week. Glad you survived. I love the idea of tahini & chocolate together, I have never heard of that combo before but think I shall have to try now! I have seen the piano exhibition around Melbourne lately, what a great idea – and the lego exhibition looks quite amazing too.

I've moved to www.veganopoulous.com ! Please go there :)

