‘No-Fu’ Love Loaf from Let Them Eat Vegan! plus oversmashed smashed Jamie Oliver spuds. Bad pics

I haven’t made a lentil loaf in ages.  The loaf (lentil and sweet potato) I have always made is from Choosing Raw and it never let me down.  I did however always plan to make Dreena Burton’s No-Fu Love Loaf from Let Them Eat Vegan! in the hopes that Arthur and DeeW would eat it and LIFE WOULD BE GOOD.

The loaf is easy to make and involves cooking up some lentils and burghul (or you can use steel cut oats instead) then mixing it up with some herbs, tahini, Worcesteshire sauce, tomato ketchup and tamari and adding in some oats.  Bake and it’s done. Super simple to prepare.

nofu love loaf

I really liked it but SAD FACE, the kids weren’t crazy about it but they at least tried it.  Which means I will put it on their plates about fourteen more times because recently a researcher within the field of sensory processing difficulties told me they found that on average, a food had to be presented to a child fifteen times before the child started eating it.

For those of you who watch Jamie Oliver Christmas show specials, you might have seen his roast potatoes that he kind of squishes half way through the cooking process.  I found a clip of it on YouTube.  Easy enough right?  I don’t think mine were cooked enough when it was time for squishing. I think I applied a bit too much force:

smashed spuds whoopsie

They kind of just exploded.  First my potato masher was making little wormy potato through the masher holes so I press down a little harder and they exploded.  But let me tell you the explodey bits crisped up and boy does adding the vinegar halfway through pack a really nice punch.  I never, ever put vinegar on my fries and always found it rather gross.  But these were great:

smashedspuds2

 

I will definitely make them again… carefully.

7 thoughts on “‘No-Fu’ Love Loaf from Let Them Eat Vegan! plus oversmashed smashed Jamie Oliver spuds. Bad pics

  1. I live in hope too and tell sylvia she has to try something ten or fifteen times if she doesn’t like it. I’d be quite happy to eat that loaf 15 times just to check if the research is right. Looks great

  2. I’ve made something similar but in muffin tins so they’re individual sized.

    Although I started eating meat again this year, last year I found adding a good kick of curry to a veggie recipe was always pretty popular.

  3. Must get that Dreena cookbook, have heard good things about it. This looks great! As does the link to the lentil and sweet potato loaf…
    Don’t you hate it when the kids don’t like/try a dish you had high hopes for? Happens to me all the time, sigh 🙂

I've moved to www.veganopoulous.com ! Please go there :)

