Mini Wellingtons from Vegan Lunchbox

One book I always flip through, make bookmarks, but never end up using (my fault, not the book’s!) is Vegan Lunchbox.  Same with Vegan Lunchbox Around The World.  It’s full of great ideas but for reasons unknown, it spends most of its time on the shelf.  Not today!  I decided to make the Mini Wellingtons as I had two more puff pastry sheets to use up, which meant I had to halve the recipe.

The filling is very straightforward: chickpeas, walnuts, oat bran, brown rice and some tasty flavours.  You moosh it up in a food processor, then make the cute little parcels with the pastry.  DeeW helped me out:

Mini Wellingtons

I have a love-hate relationship with puff pastry.  Even if it’s burnt on the bottom, to me the sides of whatever I’m making never seem cooked.  So even if it means spoiling the final result, I will flip my little parcels over and place them around the edges of the oven tray so the sides get done.  Sure it may look fugly in the end but hey, at least I know it’s cooked.  Here’s DeeW’s plate:

Mini Wellingtons

DeeW ended up eating the pastry only but Arthur and Husband ate the whole thing.  Me too of course.  At least I’m confident that Arthur will eat the filling if I make it as burgers!

 

5 thoughts on “Mini Wellingtons from Vegan Lunchbox

  1. I have the same problem with puff pastry. I always blame my oven – I think the heat doesn’t get around well enough. When I bake sausage rolls on the BBQ they seem to puff all over!

  2. They look delicious! Believe me, I have many cookbooks that mostly sit on the shelf…through no fault of their own. I need to start paying them more attention!

I've moved to www.veganopoulous.com ! Please go there :)

