Nirvana Enchilada Casserole by Isa Chandra M

There’s much excitement in vegan homes around the world because Isa Chandra Moskowitz has a new cookbook out called Isa Does It. I’m hanging out impatiently for my copy to arrive and I’ve moved my other Isa books around to make room for the new arrival.

Isa has put some of the recipes up on The Post Punk Kitchen blog, along with videos.  Because I was drooling the whole way through the video for Nirvana Enchilada Casserole, I figured I better make it FAST.

This meant a trip to La Tortilleria in Kensington to pick up some handmade corn tortillas:

tortillas

Of course, whenever I set out to make such a grand recipe, there’s always a hiccup.  This time I thought I had two cans of black beans (the recipe says pinto but I like black beans).  Turns out I only had one can.  The only other can of beans I had were cannellini so I used those along with my one can of black beans.

This recipe does take a fair bit of prep work and I had to make sure Arthur and DeeW were properly occupied for at least an hour while I chopped and roasted the potatoes, cut up onions, garlic and mushrooms and kept an eye on the enchilada sauce, the other eye on the roasting spuds and the other eye (?!) on the filling.  All the while doing my ‘clean as you go’ kitchen dance.  Which is where I have to clean up while I prepare and cook because my kitchen is so teeny tiny that I literally run out of room. I’d prepared the cashew cream earlier and you can also prepare the enchilada sauce in advance.

Let me tell you now that a sizeable amount of the filling did not make it to the casserole.  I couldn’t help it, the crispy potato mixed with the beans, mushroom, onion, garlic and lime juice was just too divine:

enchiladacasserole1

Isa isn’t kidding when she says the smothering-tortillas-in-sauce bit is messy.  It’s messy but I wonder how much of that has to do with my being a complete klutz?

All baked-y:

enchiladacasserole2

This is a big casserole so share the love!  And thank you to my hometown of Melbourne for having cold casseroley autumn weather even though summer is less than three weeks away.  

5 thoughts on “Nirvana Enchilada Casserole by Isa Chandra M

  1. We had this for dinner tonight and it was fantastic. I added spinach to ours (wilted with the mushrooms and onions) and it was perfect. :0) my tortillas weren’t nearly as special as yours, however.

I've moved to www.veganopoulous.com ! Please go there :)

