Loving Hut, Richmond and a slightly infuriating Ikea trip

Ah, Loving Hut!  I love being able to eat out somewhere and know that everything on the menu is vegan!

A newsflash! is in order: Linda from The Lentil Institution reports seeing a new Loving Hut opening in Northcote!!!

Husband and I were in Richmond recently and I wanted to have a meal at Loving Hut.  Previously I’d dropped in to get a dessert to eat in the car but this time I wanted to sit down and not risk slopping trifle all over myself and the car seat (again).

There were so many things I wanted to try but for the entree I settled on the Lucky Rainbow Pockets, and not just because it’s a great name.  These were full of crunchy goodness with a sweet dressing.  I’m determined to start using beancurd pockets now:

lovinghut3

Husband ordered the fried spring rolls and said they were good.  Oh okay, they were good.  I had a little taste:

lovinghut2

For my main meal I ordered the Royal Rendang which was made with sliced soy fillets and veg.  Rendang is one of my favourite meals and this was one had different flavours than all the other rendang dishes I have ever tried.  The meal was nice however I kept biting in to little chunks of hard stuff, which I assume is bark of some sort.  At least I knew it wasn’t animal gristle! Then there was a really big piece, about the size of a ten cent coin and after that I decided to call it quits as I was quite full by that point anyway:

lovinghut1

The big positive was the service.  The lovely lady that served us asked if our food was okay and if there was anything they could improve on.  Now that’s service!  I mentioned the bits of bark and it was taken very well.  I will definitely go back to Loving Hut (many times)  and I look forward to working my way through their menu  🙂

Loving Hut is located at Shop 10/242 Victoria Street, Richmond. http://www.lovinghutmelbourne.com.au/

Now where does one go when they’re on Victoria Street in Richmond?  IKEA!  I have a love-hate relationship with this place.  Love, because, well it’s Ikea.  But yet AGAIN I got lost and went in circles when I backtracked, trying in vain to find the kids section.  That’s what you get for thinking you’re a rebel by defying those direction arrows on the floor.

ikea2

I had a very quick browse through the food section to see if there were any vegan goodies.  These look vegan but I’d have to confirm it:

ikea5

ikea1

ikea3

If you know anything about vegan goodies at Ikea, please leave a comment!

12 thoughts on “Loving Hut, Richmond and a slightly infuriating Ikea trip

  1. Ikea really is a giant trap/maze. R went there today and he had the list so all he had to do was go straight to pick up the flat packs. He ended up completely lost, had a freak out and ended up paying $40 to have the ikea person take his list, buy the stuff and put it on the truck. He then spent an hour recovering afterwards. I told him to let me go…ikea is not for the inexperienced or easily overwhelmed shopper 😉

    • oh no! Though if there was frustration I totally understand it, I really get frustrated having to find those teeny lifts to change floors and how you have to make your way back through the maze!

  2. This sounds like my day last week… lost in IKEA and lunch at loving hut. I wasn’t so impressed with LH though. It is nice to relax and know everything is vegan, but I have had much better mock meat food at Enlightened Cuisine.

  3. Those pockets look great – the mock meat is less my sort of stuff

    As for ikea – I have been there too often lately – in fact had a few trips looking for an item that wasn’t there and finally went and bought absolutely notihing – which is a sign I had been there too many times and was totally bored with the place – Sylvia loves the play area and I do love to look at all the kitchen stuff

  4. Oh those rainbow pocket things look goooood! I can’t wait for the Northcote Loving Hut to open. Ikea, on the other hand makes me break out in a panicky sweat…but sometimes you just have to go there.

  5. I never went to Loving Hut when I lived in Melbourne, but I visited the one in Perth last year when I was there…they were sooo good. Does the Melbourne one have a café with more lunchy foods like raw wraps, quiche, pies, etc? I’m in Perth at the moment so hoping to get a visit in before I move on. Exciting to hear about the Northcote store too 🙂

I've moved to www.veganopoulous.com ! Please go there :)

