A Week In Our Home Ed Life: the Melbourne Museum edition

Here’s a little glimpse in to our homeschooling life this week, featuring the Melbourne Museum.  Yay for museums!

On one of the warmer days, DeeW went off on a beach adventure with Husband.  No photos there, but they had a good time being beach geeks.

Arthur loves Kerbal Space Program.  Check it out, it’s a fab program.  It has become Arthur’s number one favourite:

kerbals

Father and son reading What if? xkcd.  They read it together so they can have a discussion.  I love hearing Arthur giggling at it:

whatif

Flower pressing with DeeW for some art work in a few weeks:

flowerpressing

Arthur’s reading pile, courtesy of many library visits:

bookpile

I kept forgetting to take photos of the numeracy/literacy stuff, hopefully next time 🙂

Today we visited the Melbourne Museum.  We were there for about three and a half hours and still didn’t see everything.  With our free entry, I’m not that fussed and we’ll go back again before the weather starts getting too hot.  We often visit these school-y kinds of places in the afternoon, when school excursion groups have gone home and we get everything to ourselves  😉

melbmuseum1

This piece of amber contains 35 million year old fossil insects.  Phwooooar, geek out!

35million

An 1860 printing of The Origin of Species:

originofspecies1860

…aaaaand it’s always about the poo with my kids:
dinopoo

melbmuseum3

melbmuseum4

melbmuseum5

melbmuseum6

Husband took the kids to the playground by the Museum when we were done, while I had a quick browse in the shop:

museumshop1

museumshop2

museumshop3

I ended up buying these to be used as part of our Australian Studies next year.  The DK Human Body book will be used as part of our Life Science studies:

museumshop4

The Royal Exhibition Building, opposite the Museum and IMAX:

exhibitionbuilding

I’m looking forward to returning to the Museum to see this.  Husband says Timothy Dalton was hands down the best bond.  I’m inclined to agree, only because one of my favourite cheesy movies is Flash Gordon:

melbmuseum2

Hope you enjoyed the first of my homschooling specific ‘weeks that were’ 🙂

10 thoughts on “A Week In Our Home Ed Life: the Melbourne Museum edition

  1. I absolutely LOVE museums, so this post is a particular treat. I always enjoyed class trips to the Museum of Natural History and the Hayden Planetarium when I was growing up.

    I always thought that if I had children I would home-school them, but I don’t think I would have had the patience. Plus I would have been concerned about them learning social skills and how to get along with other people from different cultures and races, etc. I think there are pros and cons to both home-schooling and going to public school. More power to you.

    • I have some of your country’s museums and galleries on my bucket list 🙂

      The social skills part of homeschooling really isn’t as problematic as people often think (as in, the people who comment negatively to me about it). I point out that my children learn to be part of society and the community by actually going out in to society and interacting and engaging with people of all ages, abilities and backgrounds. Melbourne is a very multicultural city and my children have friends of various ethnic backgrounds without it having been planned IYKWIM, the kids just met and hit it off. There are also lots of homeschool get togethers, classes (for eg sports, arts, science, chess you name it) where there can be a school style set up or more ‘free range’, play dates, activities out of school hours that school kids attend (for eg my daughter attends dance classes and is the only homeschooled student) and many more opportunities. I’ve encountered lots of comments where people clearly assume we’re locked indoors all day, never talking to anyone and they don’t get we are actually out in the community *more* than what we would be if our kids were in school, as our time to go out as a family would be greatly limited if they were in school, had homework, catching up with grandparents on weekends etc. For us, another big advantage is being able to see family more 🙂 About patience, it comes 🙂 I know maaaany parents who made the decision to homeschool because their children were suffering in school and they were really worried about how they would handle it all but eventually they all found their groove 🙂

      • What you wrote about home-schooling is very interesting. I wonder if it is the same way here in America. The view that ,most Americans have is that children who are home-schooled are at home all day and hardly get out. I think the problem is that people think of the American Frontier when children were home all day. We need to realize that things have changed a lot since then.

        Thanks for educating me. I can just imagine how frustrating it must be having to face the same ignorant questions all the time. It is like being vegan or vegetarian and people thinking all you do is eat salads all day.

        • I didn’t have a problem with what you said at all and you’re very respectful with how you word your questions 🙂 Unfortunately I’ve had some negative comments in real life and on my last blog that are more accusing in their tone or people who “just don’t get why” someone would want to do it. The list goes on and on! What you said about the Frontier is really interesting.

          I’ve been told I don’t “look like a homeschooler”. Apparently to these people, homeschoolers either look ‘obviously’ religious in some way (we’re secular) or look like hippies (which we don’t!). When my sister told people we homeschool, the immediate questions were “are they Christian fundamentalists?” and when she said no the next question was “radical hippies then?” Then again before I was vegan I had an idea in my head of what I thought vegans, and animal activitists too, were like and I was so wrong! 😉

  2. we need to have a visit to the museum soon – there are a few exhibits we would like to see – am sure 007 is among them though we would probably need a second visit. when I see you at he museum homeschooling looks like fun but I think it would be hard work to make sure you cover all the bases. would be interested to hear how you find the topics and how much you design and how much is serendipity (as I don’t know much about homeschooling)

    • oooh my answer would fill up fifty blog pages so I’ll try to make it a short response (but really, this is very hard to put in a nutshell in written format!). Basically for every family it’s different. In VIC we have the ‘essential learning standards’ that can be used as a guide, but I know teachers and schools that really dislike it and don’t follow them 😉 Covering all bases really isn’t difficult, there are so many resources out there it can make one’s head spin! For my family, what works best for our children is an eclectic mix. I use purchased curricula (mostly multi-sensory based), good old technology (the amount of stuff my son has learnt from TED talks or quality documentaries is far, far more than he’d learn from school texts or library books) and also interest led learning, which is when our children become interested in a topic and we roll with it– this is very effective. Also, we use real life/every day things as learning opportunities. For eg baking a cake can be a science lesson (mixing ingredients, effect of mixing vinegar and baking soda, applying heat, etc) and a maths lesson (“how much would I need if I wanted to halve/double this recipe?”), and a lesson in reading and following the instructions. Not to mention the pride they feel when they have baked something for the family 🙂

      All that is what works best for my children, we may use different methods and packages to the other families we know, but it’s about finding what works best for a child in a way that supports their growth in all areas. For us, the most important thing of all is mental health so that’s also at the forefront of how we choose to do things 🙂

I've moved to www.veganopoulous.com ! Please go there :)

