Tofu Shop International, Richmond

This blog post is about a month late, as I visited The Tofu Shop a while ago.  This time, I remembered to take a photo of the outside (well, technically Husband did while I was inside ordering):

tofushop1

I can’t really remember now what I ordered but I believe it was some kind of tofu veg curry, and a separate lot of roast vegetables and broccoli served on brown rice.  I wasn’t blown away and I couldn’t help feel it was overpriced for what I got (my serving of rice was really, really small and I was still hungry afterwards which is never a good sign when you pay a fair bit):

tofushop2

As we were on our way to visit family, I decided to pick up a few of the tofu based desserts.  I found the taste of tofu very strong and although I love tofu and using it in sweets, I like the taste of tofu to be hidden in dessert.  None of the desserts I’ve made with tofu have the tofu taste and I’ve been able to fool the I-hate-tofu crowd.  Still, if you don’t mind a strong tofu taste in your dessert you’ll like these:

tofushop3

Although service was friendly, I found the ordering process a little confusing  which made me wonder if there was some kind of ordering protocol that the regulars would know about but as a newcomer I wouldn’t.  The woman behind the counter even asked if I had been there before.  I had asked what the vegan options were and could I have a selection of them on rice, but then I was treated to a confusing explanation (which I don’t remember as I started feeling frazzled) only to end up with what I’d asked for.  Friendly, but confusing.

Tofu Shop International is located at 78 Bridge Road, Richmond. https://www.facebook.com/pages/Tofu-Shop-International/299743846361

4 thoughts on “Tofu Shop International, Richmond

  1. No wonder you didn’t feel in a hurry to write it up – yesterday I remembered I place I visited on holiday in September that I had forgotten to write up – but I digress – shame it didn’t quite satisfy – it all looks really good

  2. Sounds interesting! I always feel like places have to be exceptionally good for everyone else in the world so they don’t swear off tofu forever! Too bad this one wasn’t.

I've moved to www.veganopoulous.com ! Please go there :)

