Spiced Sweet Potato Blondies: second attempt ROCKS

So the other day I made the Spiced Sweet Potato Blondies from ‘Vegan Cookies Invade Your Cookie Jar’, which is Arthur’s favourite cookbook.  I wonder why… Anyway, as I mentioned in that blog post, they turned out way too sweet for me, though my using different sugars may have contributed to that.  I have just started baking with coconut sugar and need to read up on it a little more.

Yesterday I made the recipe again, however this time I halved the amount of sugar and used only coconut sugar.  I also made the blondies gluten free by using Ricki Heller’s all purpose gluten free flour mix (as in, you make this mix up yourself based on Ricki’s recipe).  This time I added in some white choc chips.

These were really very good.  To quote Arthur, “these get a 100% satisfaction rating, even 110%”.  I am so pleased because now I have another treat I can bake,with ingredients like sweet potato and flours like millet and chickpea. I used the exact same amounts of flavourings (vanilla, cinnamon, ginger, nutmeg) listed in the recipe though I slightly increased the baking powder. They did seem a little drier the next day and more cake like but still very good 🙂

blondes1

7 thoughts on “Spiced Sweet Potato Blondies: second attempt ROCKS

  1. they look great and I am glad the white choc chips worked for you here – I occasionally stray too far from a recipe and realise I should take more notice espeically when it has been rigorously tested.

  2. Brave to try it again so soon after a not great experience, and yay! that it worked out so well. I love sweet potatoes in sweets, but I think that’s because I grew up in America where pumpkin is really only a dessert ingredient 🙂

I've moved to www.veganopoulous.com ! Please go there :)

