Magical Mystery Ingredient: Chocolate Peanut Butter Fudgies with ______?

What do you do when you read a cake or cookie recipe that has a completely zany ingredient in it?  Some people think sweet potato in baked treats is weird but to me it’s perfect.  So perfect, that when I see, for instance, a chocolate peanut butter fudgie cookies recipe featuring EGGPLANT (that’s AUBERGINE), I’m IN.

This eggplanty auberginey zaniness is Ricki Heller’s recipe for Chocolate Peanut Butter Fudgies.  And it’s the fantastic kind of zany with the added bonus of not being able to taste the eggplant.  The way I see it, there’s good zany and bad zany.  Good zany: eggplant in chocolate fudgy cookies.  Bad zany: breakfast radio hosts.

Now friends, I’ve admitted a kind of kitchen laziness in the past.  Ditto for unintentional stupidity. So much of the time, something goes wrong.  Like I’ll trip over and the entire pot of veg korma ends up on the floor and under the lino. I’m the person who knocks over displays of apples in the supermarket even though I haven’t touched them. Anyway, Ricki’s recipe says you place the fudgies two inches apart for cooking.  And then I was all “oh, but that would mean I have to make two trays and I’d much prefer to do them all in one go”. So yeah… I decided to put them a leeeeettle closer together because it can’t be THAT bad, right?  Especially given I ate about three cookies worth of the dough because it was so nice.

This is what happens when you don’t listen.  You get a kind of cookie pancake:

fudgies1

But hey, they tasted great after I carefully cut them apart.  NO EGGPLANTY AUBERGINEY TASTE WHATSOEVER.  Husband hates eggplant with a passion and he thought these were great, ha ha!  No I didn’t tell him what was in them.

This recipe uses spelt flour and I decided to use raw sugar. As I’m moving towards more gluten free baking and using alternatives to the common sugars, I’m finishing up what I have before making the switch in a more committed fashion.

The family really liked these, Arthur says they’re the nicest cookies I’ve ever made.  Next time I make them, I will try gluten free and different sweetener (and less of it, I think I plopped in too much sugar).

fudgies2

If you’re a lover of fudgy chocolate cookies, especially with peanut butter, you must try this recipe 🙂

2 thoughts on “Magical Mystery Ingredient: Chocolate Peanut Butter Fudgies with ______?

  1. I loved this recipe when I made it – and I too was intrigued by the eggplant. there is a gf version of it in ricki’s new cookbook but I think it used almond butter – so it might be useful to look at for your changes – I think bikkies taste just as good if they meet on the tray – glad they worked!

I've moved to www.veganopoulous.com ! Please go there :)

