Vegan MoFo 2013: Day 7. Australia votes!

veganmofo2013banner

Today Australians queued up all over the nation to vote.  No, we’re not voting for the worst food photography example on the Veganopoulous blog because that would be one massive ballot paper.  It’s federal election day.  Husband was stationed at the polling booth up the road, handing out How To Vote cards and he always comes back with classic tales.  Like the one time when he saw people from the Labor and Liberal camps getting in to a punch up.  No, not voters– the people handing out the HTV cards.

Right.  Okay.  Raw breakfast!!! Today I got a bit more organised with soaking stuff in preparation for the Pear and Pumpkin Porridge from ‘Eat Raw, Eat Well’.  Before becoming vegan I never knew you could eat pumpkin uncooked.  This recipe is one I’ve wanted to try for a while, even though the thought of eating raw pumpkin doesn’t appeal much, to be honest.  Still, MoFo is all about trying new things and eating more raw is one of my MoFo goals.  So here ’tis (picture shows two servings):

rawpumpkinporridge

The recipe involves soaking buckwheat, pumpkin seeds, sunflower seeds (which I didn’t have), and raw cashews for up to an hour.  Grate some pumpkin, throw in some pear, cinnamon, nutmeg, cloves, salt and maple syrup (recipe says agave but Arthur is allergic so we avoid having it in the house), and non dairy milk, whiz it in the food processor and that’s it.  I made it less sweet than what the recipe said which turned out to be a good choice.  i also halved the recipe. This was tasty and filling though I do admit it’s rather ‘different’ and something I have to get used to but overall I’m happy with how it turned out.

6 thoughts on “Vegan MoFo 2013: Day 7. Australia votes!

  1. A punch up at the election booths – sounds more entertaining than numbering 97 senate candidates. I have never had raw pumpkin – seems a bit ikky to me but can sort of understand it would work – and never heard of an agave allergy either. Interesting breakfast

  2. I have to admit, I would never have thought of eating raw pumpkin! But this actually sounds pretty good…and I suppose it’s no where near as crazy as a lot of the other stuff we eat and enjoy. A couple of years ago I would have thought it was crazy to make a silverbeet smoothie. Well, perhaps it is, but it does taste good!

I've moved to www.veganopoulous.com ! Please go there :)

