Vegan MoFo 2013: Day 4

veganmofo2013banner

MoFo is great but I’m already finding myself overwhelmed at the amount of amazing look stuff out there that I want to make.  I followed MoFo last year and yet again I am bookmarking a tonne of recipes, though last year I forgot about most of them and deleted a stack when I cleaned up my bookmarks months later.  I really don’t want to repeat that this year but we’re four days in and I’ve been drooling for most of that time (and bookmarking like mad).

Today included a breakfast smoothie again.  I was supposed to make a raw porridge but forgot and when I read the recipe I had to soak me some nuts beforehand.  I was too hungry for that half hour soak so it was smoothie time.  Soaking nuts gets in the way of my breakfast and I haaate waiting to eat.  Anyway, I used bananas, date, hemp protein, home made almond milk and a pinch each of ginger, cinnamon, nutmeg and cloves (I couldn’t find the cardamom).  It tasted mostly of bananas because I didn’t put enough of the spices.  Oh well, live, drink, and learn.  It was still a good breakfast:

notquitechai

I made these gluten free crackers from Oh She Glows after reading about them on Made of Stars.  They’re very simple and changing the flavours is a cinch, I left out the rosemary and halved the thyme in case they were too strong for the kids.  The ingredients in my batch are almond meal, brown rice flour, sesame seeds, nooch, salt, thyme, garlic powder (also halved), a teaspoon of olive oil and water.  DeeW loves crackers, unfortunately the ones she loves are the supermarket variety and I really want to get her on to healthy home made versions.  More bummer was that the kids didn’t like these and only afterwards did I remember they don’t like the taste of sesame:

crackers

Lunch was the leftover Pumpkin Chickpea and Cauliflower Curry with Fresh Cream Sauce (my version) from ‘Let Them Eat Vegan’, again served on top of red quinoa and dinner was a simple vegetable soup my sister had made:

vegsoup

Today’s chuck-it-all-in-a-bowl recipe was for some tahini balls.  I didn’t follow a recipe, I just grabbed stuff that I thought would work.  This involved finely chopping brazil nuts and pecans in the food processor then adding Medjool dates (and chopping), then things like chia seed, pumpkin seed, ground flax, coconut, cacao nibs and the tahini.  They weren’t really sticking together enough so I added a little maple syrup.  The tahini flavour is strong, which I love and the trick is not to eat them all in one go:

tahinietcballs

So again, not very exciting MoFo-wise and I’m still a little sick and honestly feel a little blah about having to think.  At least I’m eating better now than I have been in the past few months 😉

2 thoughts on “Vegan MoFo 2013: Day 4

  1. looks very healthy – I have bookmarked those crackers to make – have the same problem with Sylvia liking what is from supermarket and not what I make – I think it is payback from my childhood and wanting ‘bought’ biscuits

I've moved to www.veganopoulous.com ! Please go there :)

