Vegan MoFo 2013: Day 3’s smoothie and finally, MoFo themed meals

veganmofo2013banner

Another smoothie for breakfast today, this time an old favourite made with brazil nuts, pumpkin seeds, hemp protein, frozen banana, a date and some cacao nibs (and water):

brazilnutetcsmoothieLunch was a salad wrap.  I visited my mum a couple of days ago and she’d chopped up some ingredients to make a coleslaw (cabbage, celery, red capsicum, parsley, dill) and I took a small container home with me.  For the wrap bit, I used lettuce leaves.  The non-raw element is the eggplant dip I also scored from my mum’s house, she and my sister had roasted some eggplant and made a delicious garlicky dip so I plopped that on to give the whole thing some flavour (and I had to use up the dip, nobody else in my house eats it):

saladwrap

Fortunately my appetite is returning  because I decided to also have a vegan stuffed capsicum that my mum prepared.  In Greek we call this dish “yemista” and they’re traditionally made with a combination of mince meat and rice but during Lent, many people make vegan versions.  My mum’s version is delicious and hopefully I can blog the recipe one day:

yemista

Before leaving for Sydney last week, I made some meals to freeze so that I wouldn’t have to run around wondering what to cook for MoFo the day after returning home.  I made the Pumpkin Chickpea Cauliflower Curry from Dreena Burton’s ‘Let Them Eat Vegan!’, using the oil free option (which is just omitting the oil when you fry stuff and use a splash of water instead).  Dreena recommends serving this with her Fresh Cream Sauce, made with raw cashews but I discovered I was all out of raw cashews and tried macadamias instead.  I added more lemon juice to the macadamia cream than the recipe called for, so mine was more a Fresh Macadamia Lemony Cream Sauce.  Still, it was fine spooned on top of the stew (though I think the cashew version would be much nicer) which I served with some red quinoa I’d cooked and frozen a long, long time ago (as in, I was surprised to find it in the freezer and decided I better use it):

pumpkinchickpeacaulicurry

Dreena’s recipe calls for a can of pumpkin puree but I just cooked and pureed some butternut pumpkin I had in the fridge.  It made about half a can’s worth, so with the full amount it would have turned out better.  Still, it was loaded with veggies and chickpeas, was oil free and gluten free so I kept with my MoFo theme there when it comes to cooking my own meals  😉

11 thoughts on “Vegan MoFo 2013: Day 3’s smoothie and finally, MoFo themed meals

  1. Sounds like a day of virtuous eating – even with the eggplant dip – I wish I could say the same but my
    ><<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<R%^& (That is my cat making some comment which I am sure is meant kindly)
    my mum brought over ANZACs and I think I need one with my cuppa 🙂

I've moved to www.veganopoulous.com ! Please go there :)

