Vegan MoFo 2013: Day 2’s green smoothie and blurghness

veganmofo2013banner

Welllll.  All I have to feature today is my raw breakfast green smoothie.  The recipe comes from Brendan Brazier’s book ‘Thrive: The Vegan Nutrition Guide to Optimal Performance in Sports and Life‘, a book I highly recommend.  This recipe is the Kale Calcium Boost, but as I don’t like kale in my smoothies I used spinach leaves instead (and I’m saving my kale for something else).  I also added some frozen banana because that’s my thing, I can’t seem to enjoy a smoothie unless it has a banana in it.  Especially green smoothies.  Aaanyway, this is a great tasting smoothie that had the banana, spinach, apple, date, ground flax, hemp protein and tahini, but did not taste tahini-y:

calciumgreensmoothie

In the afternoon I had my leftovers from last night’s dinner at Magic Mint Cafe, roughly around the time I began to notice my sore eyes and scratchy throat and that blurgh feeling in my head and stomach that tells me I am coming down with something.  So thanks to having no appetite, I didn’t have dinner, apart from a couple pieces of fruit, so there’s nothing to show on Day 2.  BORING.  I will have something tomorrow because I have defrosted an oil-free meal I made a fortnight ago and need to eat it tomorrow.  So, sick or not, I will blog about this recipe tomorrow!

6 thoughts on “Vegan MoFo 2013: Day 2’s green smoothie and blurghness

  1. I want to eat kale in smoothies but still haven’t managed to convince myself to try it. But I love spinach in smoothies. The green smoothie looks like just what you need if you are feeling unwell – good luck with mofoing and battling a lurgy.

I've moved to www.veganopoulous.com ! Please go there :)

