Lots of vegan goodies I’ve tried recently

In recent times I’ve been trying out some vegan food products so I thought I’d blog about them of course.  Let’s go!

First up, we have a jar of Tiramisu-ish by Botanical Cuisine. Oh mannnn, do you know how hard it is to stop eating this?  Now, it’s called Tiramisu-ish because it’s not like your traditional tiramisu (which, of course, is not vegan)… but there’s enough in it to make it tiramisu-like.  It’s also raw!  So I think Tiramisu-ish is a great name.  It has all those tiramisu flavours but feels really decadent.   The sort of thing that could be served in a really fancy restaurant, with an artful dribble of chocolate fudge.  And it would be gushed about in all the gourmet food mags.  At around the $10 mark it’s not cheap but mine was a present  😀

tiramisuish1

tiramisuish2

Co Yo Yoghurt is up next.  Think yoghurt consistency with coconut flavour.  If you don’t like coconut and you want a non dairy yoghurt then this may not be for you even though I personally don’t find the coconut flavour overly strong.  Then again I love coconut and it’s not unusual to see me opening the jar of coconut oil for no other reason than to smell it.  Co Yo is lovely and thick and so so much better than any soy yoghurt I’ve tried.  I’m sorry soy yoghurt, but you pretty much all suck in my experience.  Co Yo has a variety of flavours and this one is the passionfruit.  I like that it isn’t as sweet as soy (and dairy) yoghurt I’ve tried in the past.  For me, Co Yo is a winner but not something I would buy often as it’s pricey:

coyo1

Notzarella is the first vegan cheese I’ve used which acts the most like its dairy counterpart.  I never liked mozarella much and  when it came to pizzas, I felt like I was eating plastic. I sometimes ordered pizza with only a little mozarella, because otherwise I’d be picking off great greasy, plastic blobs.  Whenever I made a lasagna or pizza in my pre-vegan days, I hated using mozarella because of the whole plastic thing.  Yuuuuuck.  But now, I still want a melty vegan cheese for certain dishes.  Notzarella fits the bill there.  And I had a laugh at the FAQ on Notzarella’s site: “Is Notza good for you? No. It’s loaded with salt and fat. It’s not a health food in any respect. It was designed to give the best pizza experience possible for those who can’t (or don’t want to) eat dairy cheese”.  They get points for that kind of honesty!

My first big Notzarella experiment was a home made pizza topped with pepperoni (see below), red onion, olives, rocket, basil and the Notzarella.  The Notzarella melted and compared to a mozarella, I find it quite thick on the tongue and roof of my mouth.  Which is probably a really dumb description.  The amount I used, which you can see in the photo below, was way too much.  So much so that I didn’t want to eat any more.  I’m not keen on making my own pizzas at home because nobody eats the stuff I make but I would use the Notzarella sparingly in something like lasagna.  Note to Veganopoulous: don’t put the rocket and fresh basil on the pizza until you take it out of the oven:

pizza

Syrup waffles!  When I lived in The Netherlands I got hooked on stroepwafel.  Then I got sick of them quickly.  Then I got my sister hooked on them because I’d sent her food packages every now and then.  I spotted these Billy’s Farm Organic Wheat Syrup Waffles recently and decided to get some for my sister’s birthday… but I couldn’t resist eating one.  They’re nice, but not something I’d buy for myself.  Still, I got to reminisce about my times overseas so it’s all good:

wheatsyrupwaffels

I haven’t had fairy floss (cotton candy) in YEARS.  Probably at least ten years.  So when I saw this tub of Spun Fairy Floss I pounced.  It’s so delicious that when I dropped it all on the floor of the car, I picked it up and ate it:

spunfloss

I don’t like meat substitutes as a meat replacement.  I’ve never had a meat craving or “geez I miss chicken kiev” moment.  It’s just a thing of the past.  I am however very curious about vegan pepperoni slices.  The curiosity about pepperoni is courtesy of growing up watching American tv shows because pizza was always pepperoni pizza.  Sure, I’ve had pizza with salami and I did try pepperoni pizza once when I was a non-vegan in the US.   But vegan pepperoni was something I wanted to try.  I saw these Redwood pepperoni slices [somewhere] and because I was planning on making a pizza, I thought why not?  I’d never buy them otherwise so this was more an experiment.  They were okay, with a bit of heat and worked well on the pizza but as I’ve never really been interested in salami type stuff even before becoming vegan, I won’t buy it again though I recommend you give it a try:

pepperoni1

pepperoni2

Many, many years ago I was a big fan of Bounty bars.  They’re basically sugar loaded coconut bars covered in chocolate.  I also loved Coconut Roughs.  I did give up chocolate/candy bars about ten years ago and never reacquired a taste for them and so any coconut chocolate craving would be satisfied by something, you know, gourmet posh like.  I turned in to a big chocolate snob.  Even now I’m not a chocolate lover but when I see something like the coconut Bonvita Bonbarr, I try it just to see what it’s like.  Had I still had a Bounty craving, I’m sure the Bonbarr coconut flavour would make a a great substitute:

bonbarr

Next up is the luvju mint flavour raw chocolate by Loving Earth.  I bought the small packet, not being a chocolate fan much as I said, though peppermint in chocolate was my favourite after coconut in chocolate.  This is just right for me, not too sweet:

luvjuchoc

Enjoy!

3 thoughts on “Lots of vegan goodies I’ve tried recently

  1. I was at radical grocery yesterday and saw quite a few of these groceries and was tempted but was not on a buying trip. I tried the plain coyo and didn’t really like it with fruit but I would like to try a sweet version if it wasn’t so expensive. I loved stoepwafel after a trip to Amsterdam but saw the packet yesterday and thought naaah, too much sweet food in my house already!

  2. I love tiramisu so I’m definitely going to give Tiramisu-ish a try. I’m not a vegan but as a vego I’m open to veganising my diet where I can and if Tiramisu-ish is as good as you say, then bring it on! One thing I would NEVER do is eat anything off the floor of my car. That fairy floss must have been something…

    • bwahaha! I said to myself “well the car was just vacuumed and the bottom part of a big cone of fairy floss touched the carpet for about two seconds and surely that’s not long enough to get germs and if it is then I’ll just brush them off”…

I've moved to www.veganopoulous.com ! Please go there :)

