Fantastic French Toast from Dreena Burton’s Vive le Vegan!

One of Arthur’s favourite breakfasts is French toast.  I haven’t made this in so very long that I can’t remember if I was vegan the last time I did make it.  My mum always makes French toast for the kids when they stay at her place but she uses eggs.

I very recently bought Dreena Burton’s Vive le Vegan! as she is my favourite vegan cookbook author.  I was pleased to see a French toast recipe (called Fantastic French Toast) using silken tofu in the batter and so that became today’s breakfast.  The recipe has ground flax in it too, which is always a winner for me.

This recipe is indeed fantastic.  The batter was nice and thick and the toast slices browned beautifully and even got those lacy edges that may well fool egg lovers. I had mine with maple syrup and blueberries.  Growing up, my grandmother would make these (with eggs and dairy milk) and we’d sprinkle sugar on top when the “fettes”, as they were called in Greek, were done. There was no mooshyness with this vegan version on the inside that I always got with French toast, though I admit I was always impatient and probably never cooked it as long as I should have.  But hey, no undercooked egg in these so I’m HAPPY:

frenchtoast

A definite keeper recipe!

I've moved to www.veganopoulous.com ! Please go there :)

