A short stay in beautiful Hobart, Tasmania

Four years ago we went to Hobart on a big family trip with some relatives.  It was summer and I fell in love with Tasmania and always hoped to return, especially to Hobart as some of the old buildings are beautiful.  Well, Husband and I had the good fortune to go to Hobart again this past week while the kids enjoyed a three day sleepover with their grandparents and Mini Costco (ie the food pantry where they store all the crap they buy at Costco).

Hobart is the capital city of Tasmania and was established as a penal colony in 1804.  Hobart is also the second oldest capital city in Australia (Sydney is first).  It is also the base port for the Australian and French Antarctic operations.

Of course, we ended up in Hobart on a weekend with really, really cold weather.  I think it was about 5C (about 41F) outside when I was trying to take photos and my hands were freezing even with gloves.  On the first day there we were walking around and it started to rain right when we were at the double decker tourist bus stop with a tour ready to depart in three minutes, so we hopped on board.  Most of my photos turned out all rainy, like this one:

hobart10

After the bus ride I stopped in at Momo and got a delicious veggie burger:

momo2

momo1

Hobart has some beautiful gardens.  I’d love to return just to have a picnic in the spring!  Here are some photos of Saint David’s Park, the site of Hobart’s first cemetery:

stdavids3

stdavids1

hobart20

stdavids2

The tombstone wall.  I found myself wondering what sort of lives these people led:

tombwall

On Saturday morning we visited the famous Salamanca Market, though I think about one third of the usual amount of stalls were there, because of the weather.  A stall holder told me many other stall holders have their stock damaged in this weather so they stay home. Can’t say I blame them!

market2

market

market3

I love old buildings and Hobart had me sighing at every turn it seemed.  These photos were taken with either my camera or phone:

hobart1

hobart2

hobart3

hobart4

hobart5

hobart6

hobart7

hobart8

hobart9
hobart11

hobart12

hobart26

hobart25

hobart24

hobart23

hobart22

hobart21
hobart19

hobart18

hobart17

hobart16

hobart15

And to finish, here are some pics of Tasmania’s beautiful coastline!

tasbeach2

tasbeach1

I would love to return to Hobart but in the warmer weather where I can walk around all day exploring the old buildings and doing the history nerd thing!

6 thoughts on “A short stay in beautiful Hobart, Tasmania

I've moved to www.veganopoulous.com ! Please go there :)

