Happy Canada Day!

July 1st is Canada Day!  I hope my Canadian readers had a fabulous day rocking out to Bryan Adams and Glass Tiger.  Arthur and DeeW are interested in Canada because they have pen pals there, so today I decided to sneak a little Canada in to our day.

Did you know that Canada is the world’s largest producer of wild blueberries? And that Nova Scotia is the biggest producer of wild blueberries in Canada and the blueberry is its official provincial berry?  I had a blueberry smoothie for breakfast (with banana, leafy greens and hemp protein powder):

smoothie

Arthur and DeeW had porridge with maple syrup and blueberries:

porridge

Canada Day in my house would not be complete without maple syrup.  According to the Wikipedia page for maple syrup, in Canada syrups must be at least 66 percent sugar and be made exclusively from maple sap to qualify as maple syrup. In the United States, a syrup must be made almost entirely from maple sap to be labelled as “maple”. I am a maple syrup snob, none of that maple flavoured syrup for me. Costco sell 1 litre bottles of Grade A 100% maple syrup for $17 which is the cheapest I’ve found.  So to celebrate maple syrup and blueberries, I made a banana pumpkin blueberry cake with oat and spelt flour and maple syrup as the sweetener:

cake

When I was googling for Canadian recipes, the number one dish that kept coming up was poutine.  Poutine is potato fries topped with gravy and cheese curds.  I saw recipes with different ingredients added but I decided to make the plain version of the fries plus a vegan gravy (obviously!) for the kids.  On mine I shredded some Notzarella, a product I’ve never tried before.  For the gravy, I used the Silky Chickpea Gravy recipe from Appetite for Reduction by Isa Chandra M.   I was never much of a gravy fan when I ate meat so I think it’s kinda funny that I really like vegan gravies now.

I put mine in a bowl with the Notzarella and gravy on top:

poutine

the kids had theirs plain with some gravy on the side to sample (they didn’t like it). I also made some baked tofu with a little maple syrup in the marinade… for ‘Canada Tofu’:

tofupoutine

We went off to the library today to find books about Canada.  We found one that says Canadians like to have brunch and bacon and eggs and pancakes with maple syrup is a very common brunch.  I had to smile at the description of kids playing hockey in the street and how one kid is always on the lookout for cars.  Not unlike here, with playing cricket or tennis in the street.  Except I was always the kid who had to run after the ball… something tells me that too is universal.

lib1

DeeW made a Canada flag:

flag

I visited Canada on my own back in 1998.  I went to Niagara Falls and from there I was supposed to stay in Toronto for a few days but had a hiccup with travel plans and I ended up staying with my friend in Edmonton a few days earlier than I planned.  Husband has been to Toronto and Ottawa and said they felt very much like Melbourne and he enjoyed his time there and wouldn’t mind returning.  We’re hoping to do a big family Europe/Canada/USA one day when the kids are much older.

Hope your day involved maple syrup, wherever you are!

4 thoughts on “Happy Canada Day!

  1. You guys are so cute! You did more celebrating of Canada Day than we did. We should be ashamed really. 😉 It’s a wonderful country but we pretty much take it for granted.

    No Bryan Adams played here on Canada Day either. Probably no Canadian music, actually. What else is there…hmmm…Justin Bieber, Celine Dion…Shania Twain. I’m afraid I’m more a fan of Brits and Americans when it comes to music. 🙂

    I do love maple syrup though! And I won’t go for the maple flavouring type crap either! And your banana pumpkin blueberry cake looks delicious!

    • Heh, I was wondering if the info in kids Canada books is as cringey as kids books on Australia! I meet far too many people from overseas who express shock that I don’t talk like the Crocodile Hunter!

I've moved to www.veganopoulous.com ! Please go there :)

