Chickpea Pumpkin Seed Burgers from Let Them Eat Vegan!

I’ve tried a couple burger/patty recipes using cooked chickpeas as a base and both Arthur and DeeW have managed to eat them without complaining.  Arthur has rated them around 60% which is fine by me– as long as he eats something full of goodness I’ll take that 60%.  My aim here is to find a healthy recipe both kids will eat.  Even if I have to do the “you can have dessert after you’ve eaten all your vegies” bribe now and then.  You know, the kinds of food bribes all the child psychologist parenting expert people say you should avoid.  And before your kids were on solids you swore you would never ever subject your child to the dessert bribery.  Or childrens TV.  Or Barbie.  And then you find yourself watching ‘Arthur’ with the kids before going off to look for vintage Barbie clothing on eBay.

Today I decided to try the Chickpea Pumpkin Seed Burgers from Dreena Burton’s “Let Them Eat Vegan!”, one of my favourite cookbooks.  These burgers are made up of canned chickpeas, nutritional yeast (yay!), basil (I used the dried option), onion, cooked brown rice, oats, apple cider vinegar, Dijon mustard, ground flax, garlic, pumpkin seeds and of course S&P.  The recipe also calls for Annie’s Goddess Dressing which I don’t have (I don’t even know if it’s available in Australia) so I just did without.  Also, the recipe allows either ground flax or ground white chia seeds.  And red wine vinegar or apple cider vinegar.  I also used half the amount of dried basil suggested as I find dried basil very strong.

chickpeapumpkinseedburgers

Oh… I just realised the recipe gives you an alternative if you don’t have the Goddess Dressing.  I didn’t see it.  Whoops… well, the burgers turned out great anyway!  Arthur and DeeW gobbled theirs up and didn’t complain.  I think this is because apple pie was in the oven.

This is such a great recipe and one I will have as a regular go to.  Everything is mixed in a food processor so if you’re lazy pressed for time like me, this will appeal.  Look at those ingredients!

Thank you Dreena for yet again making my life easier!

5 thoughts on “Chickpea Pumpkin Seed Burgers from Let Them Eat Vegan!

  1. This is a recipe that I would definitely try (without the onions). It looks delicious. I need to learn how to make different kinds of vegan burgers

I've moved to www.veganopoulous.com ! Please go there :)

