Dinner at Magic Mint, Moonee Ponds

Husband and I had a day to ourselves without children.  We had a social event that went on for most of the day and by the time we left and drove the hour long journey home, we were pretty hungry.  We had our anniversary recently but didn’t do anything for it so tonight we had a sortof belated anniversary dinner.

We were passing through Moonee Ponds on the way home so I suggested we check out Magic Mint as we were both in the mood for Indian food.  Google told us Magic Mint were open tonight and there were options for omnis and vegans alike.  Sounds good!

magicmint4

Being Sunday, and very cold outside, only a few tables were taken.  That doesn’t bother me, it often means you get your food sooner!  After some discussion with a helpful member of staff, I ordered the onion bhaji and vegie pakora for our entree– the helpful woman confirmed that these were not cooked in oil used for egg/dairy/animal dishes.

I got a bit of a surprise when the onion bhaji came out because the onion bhaji I’ve had were more strips of onion as opposed to ball shapes.  I was soon bowled over by how tasty these were and perfectly cooked, with lovely subtle fennel flavours:

magicmint2

The veg pakora were also a nice surprise as there were different types and every one was delicious:

magicmint1

As you can see, there were a lot in the entrees for two people.  Whoops.  For my main I ordered the mixed vegetable curry with rice.  This was fantastic.  That’s all I can say really.  Faaaantastic.  And proof that veg curries can be bursting with flavour:

magicmint3

I was so stuffed from the entree that I ended taking three bhaji home and my leftover veg curry is currently sitting in the fridge too.  Husband ordered his omni meal and was happy with it.

Service was really helpful and friendly.  I think Magic Mint has become my new favourite Indian restaurant!

magicmint5

Magic Mint is located at 9 Hall Street in Moonee Ponds.  http://www.magicmint.com.au/

2 thoughts on “Dinner at Magic Mint, Moonee Ponds

I've moved to www.veganopoulous.com ! Please go there :)

