Cornutopia Taco Van at Preston Market

I was at Preston Market the other day (hello vegan donuts!) and, by some amazing coincidence, I was really hungry.  I was thinking about what to eat when I looked up and saw this:

cornutopia1

A food truck!  A Mexican food truck! I am yet to try one of the food trucks around Melbourne.  Can you believe it?  I had fifteen minutes to myself to do a quick bit of shopping.  I used ten of those fifteen minutes to buy something from Cornutopia.

I asked if there were vegan options and was told that certainly, I could have things made vegan.  I needed something I could eat while walking so I opted for a vegan burrito.  It was filled with corn, beans, lettuce, a lovely rice with a lemon or lime tang and homemade chipotle sauce.   It would have been nice to sit at the chairs and tables provided but I had to get back to the family waiting in the car.  So here’s a messy action photo:

cornutopia2

I managed to eat half and left the rest for later in the day as it was very filling.  It cost $10 which I think is the same price as the meat tacos.  I was kinda hoping the non-meat taco would be cheaper.  It was delicious but I do feel $10 was a bit too much.  That may make me sound stingy but… you know.  It’s just that I can put this together myself, with home made tortillas, for much less.  Still, it was something nice to try in that “I’m gonna pop some food, I got 20 dollars in my pockeeeet” child free fifteen minutes of quiet way, before the “where are the donuts I want a donut where’s my donut HIS DONUT IS BIGGER THAN MINE I WANT A BIGGER ONE THAN HE HAS” onslaught.

Cornutopia rocks up to the Preston Market but check their facebook and twitter pages for updates on their location. http://www.cornutopia.com.au

4 thoughts on “Cornutopia Taco Van at Preston Market

  1. I agree that $10 is too much for a vegan burrito. I think it should have been no more than $6 or $7. That is about how much I pay for them here.

    • I think I will make my own versions of food I buy then compare the costs with making my own. I keep meaning to stop all grocery shopping (well most of it) and just start using whatever is in the cupboards. I have so much healthy stuff sitting there doing nothing like amaranth and quinoa and all sorts of other things…

  2. Looks yummy! I wish we had food trucks around (besides the kind with flat sandwiches that stop at construction sites). I get really irritated when I ask for something made without the meat and they charge the same amount. Unfair!!

I've moved to www.veganopoulous.com ! Please go there :)

