A really slack “What I Ate” moment

I’ve been slack AGAIN with my ‘what I ate this week’ posts.  Meal planning has gone out the window for another week because of Husband’s unpredictable work schedule.  I did manage to take some pics of various this-and-thats!

Kale and chickpeas dressed with lemon juice and nooch:

kalechickpeas

I can’t tell you how happy I am that Arthur and DeeW are eating porridge.  I get to cook ONE BIG BOWL then serve it out.  Bliss!  I had some with currants and golden syrup.  With toasted coconut, I call it ‘ANZAC Biscuit Porridge’:

porridge

Bad photo of the vegan packet rendang mix with leftover potato and sweet potato mixed in:

rendangveg

In the week before Greek Orthodox Easter my mum made vegan ‘koulourakia’.  Koulourakia are bready-biscuitty things served alongside coffee and tea.  Mum’s usual recipe has butter or cream but this version is made with oil.  Everyone makes their koulourakia differently.  My maternal grandmother made big hearty versions but my paternal grandma made hers sweeter and heavier.  My mum makes hers somewhere in between:

teakoulourakia

Speaking of Easter, here are the flowers Mum had on the table for Easter Sunday lunch:

easterflowers

For lunch Mum made rice with veg.  My sister made the roast veg and a leek potato soup.  Due to an unfortunate miscommunication, there was no vegan dessert.  It didn’t matter though as I was pretty full anyway:

easterlunch

One of my favourite smoothies is made with orange, lemon and frozen bananas:

citrussmoothie

I made a walnut basil pesto which was delicious.  I tried some gluten free rice macaroni.  The first time I cooked it according to the instructions.  Sat down to eat and the pasta was still hard (yes I’d tried a piece before turning the stove off!).  It was so hard I threw everything away and made a second batch.  I had to cook the second batch for double the amount of time stated on the packet and the piece I tested had turned to moosh.  Sat down to eat the second time and some of the pieces were still too tough and I’m not talking al dente!  I ate it  because I was starving but I’m never buying it again:

ricepasta

A Lebanese zaatar bread from Zaatar on Sydney Road in Coburg:

zaatar

I went to lunch at Zaatar and ordered their falafel zaatar focaccia, which they assure me has no animal content at all.  It was delicious and I could barely finish it all:

falafel

My mum’s vegan ‘yemista’, which are Greek stuffed vegies.  Mum always uses rice but this time she used burghul:

yemista

I had a voucher for Lord of the Fries so I treated myself to their Spicy burger.  I forgot to take a photo until I’d demolished it:

mostlyeatenveganburger

…and this was my view as I ate my burger at LotF near Flinders Street Station:

lunchview2

lunchview1

It was a beautiful day and I had my camera with me, so I’ll leave you with some snaps of my super home town  🙂

citywalk1

citywalk2

citywalk3

citywalk4

citywalk5

citywalk6

citywalk7

citywalk8

citywalk9

citywalk10

And home again:

citywalk11

\o/

4 thoughts on “A really slack “What I Ate” moment

  1. love zaatar’s pizzas and focaccias – I tried buying two zaatar pizzas recently and realised they were huge and don’t taste so good cold but they are brilliant hot.

    love your melb pictures – great photography weather lately!

I've moved to www.veganopoulous.com ! Please go there :)

