Pizza at Rubicon Cafe

Last week I was treated to lunch at Rubicon Cafe in North Melbourne.  My dining pals and I went at a non-busy time so the place was empty.  In our group we had vegans (well, me), vegetarians and GF folk and we were happy to see there was something for everyone.

I was in the mood for pizza and the friendly guy who served us was very helpful and told me they’d make me a vegan special.  Sounds good right?  And it was.  It was also of hub cap size:

rubiconcafepizza

Vegan pizza is one of things I usually avoid because, well, the ones I’ve had are mostly crap and boring.  Not this one.  It had potato!!! And pumpkin!!!  And cherry tomatoes, capsicum, mushies, olives, spinach, red onion, broccoli WILL YOU STOP THIS IS JUST TOO MUCH.

This is the best vegan pizza I’ve ever had.  I was never much in to cheese on a pizza so the lack of vegan cheese wasn’t a problem at all and in fact if it were an option I would have said no.

It was about $16  and despite how huge it was, I managed to stuff it all down, leaving some crusts (and some dignity) behind.

Rubicon Cafe is located at 50 Errol Street, North Melbourne.

10 thoughts on “Pizza at Rubicon Cafe

  1. That does look good. YUMMY!!! I have yet to eat a vegan pizza that tastes good, even my when made by me. Daiya cheese does not melt very well, so maybe I should try making a vegan pizza without the cheese.

    • The only vegan pizza close to my place is a typical suburban pizza joint, so the vegan versions are just plain boring veg. I only had olive, onion and uncooked capsicum and it was bland and blergh!

  2. Up at 4am after coughing my guts out (battling a horrible cold), saw this post of yours and the photo of that pizza made me stop coughing INSTANTLY. I don’t know how or why but thank you! Must be all that HEALTH in those toppings!! It looks absolutely amazing. I’m not a big fan of cheese on a pizza either so looks like I’ll be making my way down to Errol St soon. Haven’t been down that way in ages…

I've moved to www.veganopoulous.com ! Please go there :)

