Chickpea Sensation Patties from ‘Eat, Drink, & Be Vegan’

As part of my push to get back in to meal planning, I went through a small pile of cookbooks to try out new recipes.  The kitchen table was cleared for me to work and I got Arthur to sit down and do some of his English grammar work.  He complains and moans about it being the most boring thing on earth.  That is why I know he is up to no good when he is intently scribbling in his workbook:

workbook

That’s my boy.  Did any of you pick up on the hip hop dude’s hand in the conductor’s bum?  (the “AHHHHH” is supposed to be a scream of surprise…)

Today’s recipe choice was the Chickpea Sensation Patties from Dreena Burton’s “Eat, Drink & Be Vegan”.  I am yet to go wrong with a Dreena recipe.  I love her books and read through them often.  Dreena recently wrote a blog post on finding a balance between motherhood and working.  It’s a good read and I found myself nodding along here and there.

Back to the patties.  They involve a food processor which always get a thumbs up from me!  The most time consuming part was chopping the onions and celery then frying them up a little.  In other words, not much work at all.  You just moosh everything up in the food processor then fry the patties.

The patties reminded me of the stuffing you’d make for a Christmas dish (without the rosemary).  The kitchen was full of warming smells.  I really liked them but the kids didn’t, as I expected.  Tthat’s okay, they much prefer bland foods and I was an adult before I could handle thyme and rosemary.

I steamed some cubed potatoes then fried them up with a tiny bit of oil and a generous pinch of good Spanish paprika.  For Husband, I put some raw carrot, snowpeas and green beans on his plate because that’s the way he eats them.  Being a believer in the benefits of raw food, I’m not complaining!

chickpeasensationpatties1

4 thoughts on “Chickpea Sensation Patties from ‘Eat, Drink, & Be Vegan’

  1. His doodles are so funny! My son gets bored with homework too. And even piano. He scribbled on his theory book a couple weeks ago and his piano teacher noticed. She made a sarcastic comment. I hope that taught him. 😉

    I love patties that use the food processor too! I hate mashing by hand, lazy as I am.

    • I can’t handle mashing by hand, apart from mashed potatoes and that’s only because they go yuck if I use a food processor 🙂 Yeah the doodles… my grandfather used to draw the beards and moustaches when he was in his 70s so I know where my son gets it from. And I’ve been known to do the same to the magazines in waiting rooms…

I've moved to www.veganopoulous.com ! Please go there :)

