Cafe Sarabella, Coburg. And why it is full of awesome

Edit: * Cafe Sarabella has closed *SOB CRY WAIL*

I am ashamed you guys.  I’ve been frequenting the area around Coburg Library for about two years.  And in that time I have never been to Cafe Sarabella.

Cafe Sarabella is tucked away in the Victoria Street Mall, between Sydney Road and the Coburg Library.  It’s a great little area out there with seating and recently lots of colourful yarn bomb installations.  There’s a Middle Eastern shop there that sell nuts and stuff and I buy my pecans from there, but have not ventured a few doors down to Cafe Sarabella.

I decided to check it out today as I was in the area.  Buying pecans.  Anyway, I’ve read some great reviews recently and heard word of mouth recommendations.

The lovely Sara was behind the counter and I asked her if she had anything vegan today.  Did she have vegan or what?  CHECK THIS OUT:

sarabella2

Okay so here I have her oven baked samosa in filo pastry, beetroot in spices and curry leaves, green beans with almond, potatoes with cumin seeds and other tasty spices, rice and lentils.  On the side she put two generous dollops of really hot chutneys.  Hotttt but delicious and you know why I mean generous dollop now.  I took those home for Husband as they were too hot for me.  This all cost $11 and I was stuffed.  Next time I’ll have either the samosa or everything else as this was so much and Sara mercifully said she’d put less rice because I had the samosa.  Of course I managed to stuff it all down in to my stomach.

The food was delicious and Sara herself is an absolute delight.  I was the only customer sitting down (it wasn’t lunch hour) and I ate my meal with Sara at the little table in the window (there are other small tables outside). Sara’s customers bring her fresh organic produce from their gardens and she in turn creates lovely meals and gives back.  She gave me a little taste of her gingerbread almond cake (vegan!) and I was so tempted to buy a slice to take home but I thought I’d leave it for next time as I didn’t want it getting squished in my bag.

I”m always really happy to find not only a vegan place, but one which has exceptional customer service where the owners really care about their food and their customers.  Going to Cafe Sarabella and chatting with Sara seemed like chatting to a friend you’ve known for ages.

I forgot to take a photo of the outside, but here’s the view from my chair by the window.  Hallo Sara!

sarabella1

Cafe Sarabella is not vegan or vegetarian but those options are there.  What I love about it is that the stove setup, with the Bessemer cookware, is exactly the sort of scene I grew up with.  This is honest, genuine home cooked goodness and I prefer that over a fancier restaurant meal any day  🙂

6 thoughts on “Cafe Sarabella, Coburg. And why it is full of awesome

  1. Oh I miss Coburg – I lived there years ago and used to love the Greek coffee shop in the mall. Its it still there? I agree, friendly customer service and home-cooked food puts a much bigger smile on my face than a fancy restaurant with no soul.

    • yep it’s the home cooked food with soul that got me too! I think there’s the Greek coffee shop, there are always Greek and Italian men sitting outside with coffee and worry beads 😛

  2. I have only been there a few times but it really is a great place – whenever I have been there I feel I must go back more often. Your plate of food does look awesome – if only my lunches looked that good every day

I've moved to www.veganopoulous.com ! Please go there :)

