Dinner at Warung Agus

The great thing about ‘traveling’ in veg*n blog circles is that I get to see great recommendations for places to eat.  The other day I read about the Good Hearted’s visit to Warung Agus and decided I had to visit there asap!  So tonight, my mum, sister and brother in law rocked up as soon as Warung Agus opened (with a reservation!).  We’re early dinner people.  Mum always had dinner on the table by 6pm and I freely admit that when my friends make dinner reservations for 7:30pm or later it is TORTURE.

warungagus1a

warungagus1

warungagus2

warungagus3

warungagus5

For the entree, I ordered the ‘Apokat Mebasa Santen Misi Oong-Avocado with mushroom and coconut cream sauce’. I only remembered to take a photo after I messily plopped it on to my plate:

warungagus7

My sister got the ‘Krupuk Singkong -Basket of spicy vegetarian cassava crackers and peanut sauce’:

warungagus9

Alas, I can not talk about my mum and brother in law’s meals as they weren’t vegan  🙂

For my main I got the ‘Tuung Mebasa Santen Lalah Manis- Sliced eggplant and tofu braised in coconut milk, sweet soy and spicy gravy’:

warungagus6

My sister got the ‘Toge- Traditional Balinese gado gado – Mountain of steamed vegetables and bean curd with peanut sauce and cassava crackers’:

warungagus8

My sister and I also ordered the ‘lemonade’:

warungagus10

We were all really happy with our meals.  My eggplant tofu was a little on the sweet side for me but delicious nonetheless.  Same with the lemonade which was pretty sweet indeed but I’d order it again as it was perfect for today’s hot stuffy weather.  We were way too full to eat dessert, although I didn’t see anything on the menu marked with a ‘V’ (and didn’t ask about it as we weren’t ordering anything).

I’m looking forward to visiting again as the meals and service were all great.

Warung Agus is located at 350 Victoria Street, West Melbourne.  Website is here.  Be mindful that they don’t take Eftpos!

7 thoughts on “Dinner at Warung Agus

  1. Warung Agus is gorgeous inside. They get an A+ for decor.

    I am with you on late dinner hours being torture. I grew up with dinner on the table by 6pm too and to me that is not early but right on time. It is not the best thing to eat dinner late and then go to bed with all that food in your stomach and only partially digested. I do not like to eat a big meal like dinner after7:00pm. I know someone who likes to eat dinner real late like 8:30 or 9:00pm. That is just not acceptable to me.

  2. Your meals look scrumptious!
    We have dinner at 6 or 6.30 now that we have children. Before kids, we ate later (7.30, 8). I’m so used to it now, that if we go out for dinner we always book for 6.

I've moved to www.veganopoulous.com ! Please go there :)

