Dinner at Lentil As Anything in Footscray

Lentil As Anything is one of those places non veg*ns know about so I’m a little embarrassed to admit that tonight was my first trip there.  It’s been on my to do list for ages but I just never seemed to get around to it. I was visiting some family nearby and we’d originally planned to go and eat dinner at one of the veg*n places in Fitzroy but we were all feeling pretty tired and preferred something closer .

This page explains how LaA operates: http://lentilasanything.com/philosophy.php

The vegan options tonight were plain rice, a dhal, pumpkin curry, a fab salad made with potato and green apple and a tomato-lettuce plain salad.  The vegetarian options were creamy pasta and rice pudding for dessert:

laA1

While we were eating, the lovely cook brought over a large bowl of her own special eggplant-tomato salad:

laA2

 She (I didn’t think to ask her name, silly me) said she is from Eritrea and this is a dish she makes all the time.  Okay so it was delicious, spicy and refreshing but the thing that moved me most was that I felt like I was being treated like a special guest in her home.  When people give you that genuine, proud smile as they bring you something they’ve made and chat excitedly to you about it, you see just how much love and thought went in to it all 🙂

Lentil As Anything have three locations: Footscray, Abbotsford Convent and St. Kilda.  The Footscray LaA is located at 233 Barkly Street, Footscray.

http://lentilasanything.com

I've moved to www.veganopoulous.com ! Please go there :)

