Thai Almond Chickpea Curry from ‘Let Them Eat Vegan!’

I’ve made quite a few of Dreena Burton’s recipes and they’ve all been great.  I decided to make Dreena’s Thai Almond Chickpea Curry because I’ve never made this kind of curry in the oven before.  It’s simple and straightforward and appeals to my lazy side.  All the sauce ingredients get blended up.  Nice!

The first time I made this, I followed the recipe exactly, using almonds.  It was nice, but I found the almond taste a little too strong but that could be because I used whole almonds instead of almond butter (recipe says almond butter) and these organic almonds I’ve been using have a lovely strong almond flavour.  Not so great in this dish, so when I made it again I used cashews.  Much better!

I used a variety of vegetables and added water to the blended sauce:

dreenacurry1

Cover with foil and stick it in the oven.  I mixed some baby spinach leaves through after it was cooked then served it up plain as I was a bit sick of rice:

dreenacurry2

Delicious and something I’d make again, with cashews and not the almonds.  This recipe also depends on the curry paste you use.  I used the vegan red curry paste Aldi stock and it was mostly okay but I don’t think you can ever beat a homemade curry paste  🙂


dreenacurry3

4 thoughts on “Thai Almond Chickpea Curry from ‘Let Them Eat Vegan!’

  1. This is one of my absolute favourite recipes from LTEV – so easy, so delicious. I’ve never made it with fresh almonds (as I wouldn’t be sure how many would be necessary to make the correct quantity of almond butter), but with almond butter (or even peanut butter) it’s absolutely fantastic. Love how easy and hassle-free it is.

I've moved to www.veganopoulous.com ! Please go there :)

