Random what-I’ve-been-eating-this-week

It’s been a bit of a mehhh week for food preperation.  See what happens when I don’t have a meal plan?  There were just so many leftovers that lasted a couple of days each that I figured a meal plan wasn’t worth the trouble.

This is one of those can’t-be-bothered meals.  You know, where you grab whatever manky veggies are in the fridge, the packet of soba noodles you forgot about and the vegan Chinese barbecue sauce and that’s it.  And decide to be healthy by adding in tempeh.  I’m still not a lover of tempeh:

tempehbbqnoodles

I made up a pasta sauce from more manky vegies and things that were past their best before date.  So this is a mix of garlic, onion and diced eggplant sauteed in olive oil, followed by chopped bottled red peppers and tapenade and hey while we’re at it let’s chuck in the last of the kale.  I prefer more of the sauce than the pasta.  I gave up pasta last year and when I ate this I was all “I really don’t like pasta anymore”.  Much prefer raw zucchini noodles:

eggplantkalepasta

Mum made her Greek lentil dish which is called “faki”.  Yes, it’s really pronounced “fuck-i” with the emphasis on the second syllable. When I was in school I never knew the English word for lentils and the teacher asked us in turn what we had for dinner the previous night.  I ended up in detention for a week:

greeklentilsoup

Some of mum’s pilafi rice with that pasta sauce:

pilafisauce

My favourite breakfast smoothie is made with a little water, frozen banana, almonds, cacao nibs, coconut oil and a date.  I really like the plaster on the wall there, dating back to the 30s.  We’ll probably have to remove it all at some point as pesky little earthquakes and tremors have opened up big cracks in all the corners.  Hopefully I can find a plasterer who does this sort of texturey thing:

cacaonutsmoothie

Another smoothie, this time with baby spinach, orange, pumpkin seeds and a bit of chlorella:

greensmoothie

Another batch of sausage rolls to eat over a few days.  I now add in about a heaped cup of raw cauliflower that has been finely chopped in the food processor and omit the breadcrumbs, purely so I can sneak more veg in to my children:

sausageroll

Saving the best til last.  Australia Day themed cupcakes from Mister Nice Guy’s Bake Shop and banoffee cheezecake:

bakeshop2

bakeshop

mnggalahcupcake


banoffee
mngbakeshop

Peace!

2 thoughts on “Random what-I’ve-been-eating-this-week

    • The only pasta I seem to like these days is my ‘kritharaki’ dish with the risoni/orzo pasta. I stopped eating pasta for a while and now I find when I eat it I really notice how blergh I feel afterwards 😦 I tried gluten free pasta varieties and don’t like them at all, waah.

I've moved to www.veganopoulous.com ! Please go there :)

