Homemade Japanese curry fizzer

After my delicious Japanese curry at Yong Green Food last night, I decided to try making my own.  Before I became vegan I used to buy a pre-packaged Japanese curry mix from the supermarket.  I think it’s vegan but last time I looked at the ingredients list it was full of nasty flavour enhancers and other scary looking stuff.

A cookbook I hung on to from my omni days is Curry Cuisine by a number of authors and published by DK, which features curry recipes from all over.  Japanese curry was the one dish I’d order in restaurants and it contained a crumbed meat.  I’m a sucker for anything crumbed/breaded and fried til crispy.

So I pulled out Curry Cuisine today and looked up the Japanese Curry recipe.  I made this a couple of years ago and really liked it.  Today I had a bunch of veg I wanted to put in and I decided to toss some cubed hard tofu in cornflour and fry it first so it went all crispy-like.

Because I had so many veggies I doubled the recipe but also made a few here-and-there changes.  The recipe calls for a cooking apple which I didn’t have and shoyu, which ran out recently and I keep forgetting to replace it (remember folks my walls aren’t filthy, they’re burn marks and stains that can’t be removed):

japanesecurryveg

I left out the mango chutney because I wanted to avoid adding too much sweet stuff and the recipe has tomato sauce (ketchup) in it.  In the end though I felt it needed a bit so I stirred it in after a taste test.

The consistency turned out great, nice and thick.  I made this as a last minute decision and if I’d been more organised I would have used home made veggie stock (I used vegan beef stock as it’s all I had on hand), bought the shoyu and a proper Japanese curry powder (all I had was Keens…).

The recipe has you prepare a roux first.  Here’s what mine looked like:

japanesecurryroux

Here’s the curry roux and curry sauce part of the recipe.  The rest of the recipe is about cooking non-vegan  🙂  Once the veggies were finished cooking, I put my tofu on a mattress of rice and spooned the veg curry on top.  I know I go on about my bad photos so how about another example?


japanesecurryready

Katsu Curry (minus the katsu bit) from Curry Cuisine, 2006 published by DK

For the Curry roux:

* 2Tbs vegetable oil

* 2Tbs butter (I used Nutellex)

* 1 onion, thinly sliced lengthwise

* 2 garlic cloves, finely chopped

* 3/4inch – 2cm piece fresh ginger, grated (I used minced ginger)

* 2Tbs mild Japanese or Indian curry powder

* 4Tbs all purpose flour (I used brown rice flour)

* 1Tbs mango chutney

* 2Tbs tomato sauce/ketchup

* 2tsp shoyu (I used tamari)

To make the curry roux, heat oil and butter in a frying pan, add onion and reduce heat to low.  Fry for 30-40 mins or until onion is soft and brown [I couldn’t be bothered waiting so long].  Stir in garlic, ginger, curry powder and fry for 2 minutes.  Add flour and stir to absorb the oil.  Add chutney, ketchup and shoyu and mix well.  Remove from heat and set aside.

For the curry sauce:

* 1Tbs vegetable oil

* 1 onion, thinly sliced

* 14oz – 400g button mushrooms, halved or quartered [I used a heap of veggies and no mushrooms, see photos]

 * 1/2 cooking apple, grated with skin [I didn’t include this]

* 1 small carrot, peeled and grated

* 1 stick celery, finely chopped

* 2 1/2 cups vegetable stock

* salt and ground white pepper

Heat oil in another frying pan and fry onion for 3 minutes.  Add the mushrooms and fry until soft [I just dumped in all my veggies at this point]. Add apple, carrot and celery and fry for 5 minutes over med-low heat.  Pour in stock and bring to a boil then stir in curry roux little by little and add salt and pepper to taste.  Cover and leave to simmer gently, stirring occasionally.

I think following the recipe will produce a better result than my hack job  🙂

2 thoughts on “Homemade Japanese curry fizzer

    • I recently bought ‘660 Curries’, stupidly under the impression it was vegetarian but it isn’t. Still, I don’t have much trouble veganising recipes so I should check it out more 🙂

I've moved to www.veganopoulous.com ! Please go there :)

