Wide Open Butter Beans

After my visit to Wide Open Road last week, I’ve been thinking about those beans.  I thought about them again today when I saw two cans of butter beans in my pantry.  I bought canned butter beans ages ago, to do something that I obviously forgot about.  Then of course my mind started ticking, could I replicate the canellinni beans recipe at home?  Probably not but it was worth a shot.

Surprisingly, they actually tasted pretty good.  This is what I did with no exact measurements, just a bit of this and a bit of that.

I opened two 400g cans of pre-cooked butter beans and rinsed-drained them.  I put about one and a quarter cans worth in the blender with about half a cup of water and lightly pulsed so they were halfway between pureed and solid. Then I loosely mashed the remaining beans by hand, leaving enough chunks.  I added the slightly-pureed beans and the slightly mashed beans to a small saucepan.  Whisked them together to break up lumps.

To the beans I added a sprig of fresh rosemary, the juice of half a large lemon (the lemon was too soft to zest), a tiny pinch of onion powder and ground pepper to taste.  The consistency was a little soupy but I knew it would thicken up. I got them to a slow bubble on a low heat, stirring often.

When they were done and put in their serving bowl, I drizzled a little extra virgin olive oil on top and sprinkled a generous amount of a pistachio dukkah:

butterbeans

Sure, they’re not slow cooked but if you’re impatient like me (or have had rotten luck with making slow cooked beans, like me), then these could provide you with a nice quick, easy and cheap comforting cold weather meal.

Enjoy!

4 thoughts on “Wide Open Butter Beans

I've moved to www.veganopoulous.com ! Please go there :)

