A visit to A. Bongiovanni & Son, Seddon

I was passing through the suburb of Seddon today and dropped in to the A. Bongiovanni & Son grocery store.  I’ve been meaning to check it out for a while so Husband and I did just that.  The store stocks organic and gluten free products from foodstuffs to personal care, baby care and cleaning items.  I forgot to take my camera so the photos were taken on my phone.  I’ll let the photos do the talking:

bongiovanni1

Some of the fruit and veg:

bongiovanni2

Jam:

bongiovanni10

Oils and vinegars:

bongionvanni7

Drinking chocolate:

bongiovanni4

Tea:

bongiovanni5

Tempeh and tofu:

bongiovanni8

Chips:

bongiovanni3

Flours:

bongiovanni12

Sauces:

bongiovanni6

Nuts:

bongiovanni9

Yay for finding chilpotle peppers in adobo sauce!  I have so many recipes with this that I want to try so hurrah for finding a can:

bongiovanni11

This is a store I would visit again for those “something special” items.  I was pretty impressed with the variety on offer and the staff were very friendly and helpful when I asked if they had canned black beans (they do, but not today as they’re a popular item and sell quickly).  Husband loaded up with some beverages because he’s a beverages head and I’m more the ooooh chilpotles in adobo sauce head.  I got a nice looking flour for pizza bases, a raspberry wine vinegar, a balsamic vinegar, hazelnut chocolate milk and plain firm tofu.  I bought the hazelnut choc milk because I KNEW Arthur would like it from the carton even though the one I made myself weeks ago tasted exactly the same but he said it was yuck.

This store is not vegan or vegetarian specific but does supply enough stuff that you can use in a vegan kitchen, or gluten free vegan kitchen.  I was in a bit of a rush so I didn’t have time to properly note what more was vegan.

A. Bongiovanni & Son is located at 176 Victoria Street, Seddon.  It is close to Middle Footscray train station.  Check out their Facebook page for opening hours and contact details.

2 thoughts on “A visit to A. Bongiovanni & Son, Seddon

I've moved to www.veganopoulous.com ! Please go there :)

