Bribery and a visit to Mister Nice Guy’s Bake Shop

As I’ve mentioned before, I’m the only vegan in my family and I’m gradually changing over all the food in the house to vegan.  Anything I prepare is vegan.  Arthur has a very limited diet in terms of what he eats due to sensitivities based around the visual, smells and textures of foods.  He prefers bland foods for his main meals although he has surprised me now and then with eating things I’ve made which I could have sworn he’d run away from.

Arthur has eczema that without a doubt is related to what he eats, based on the before-and-after appearance of his skin.  Without getting in to detail,  it’s not a simple case of chucking everything out and me saying “right that’s it, you’re not eating dairy any more”.  How I wish it were, but that’s not the reality for my family.

So I have to resort to bribery and corruption.  Yesterday Arthur’s skin was the worst I’ve seen it for a while so I spoke to him again about reactions to what we eat.  I could see he was starting to get upset at the whole idea of “no more toasted cheese sandwiches” (he hates vegan cheeze).  So I said I’d give him $20 if he doesn’t have dairy at all for five weeks.  He raised an eyebrow and said it’s worth more than $20.  I said $25, you can have the $25 in a lump sum at the end or $5 a week.  He opted for the $25.  Tell a mulleted friend it’s easy money:

johnconnoreasymoney

Let me tell you that I didn’t think he’d go for this at all, because he is very emotionally attached to his favourite things and that includes food.  Today he woke up and said “what can I have for breakfast that doesn’t have dairy?”  This is super massive news in my house, even if it does involve a pay off.

When the kids are working on some kind of big change, we like to let them know we appreciate it and we often mark it with a special occassion.  When Arthur got his glasses, we had a glasses party.  Today’s special occassion was “Going Dairy Free for Five Weeks” and what better place to celebrate than Mister Nice Guy’s Bake Shop!  Arthur has been asking to go back because he loves the cinnamon buns.

We chose a good day to go because the lovely woman behind the counter remembered us and asked Arthur if he’d like the largest cinnamon bun  🙂  He was mighty impressed.  We also used this as a good opportunity to remind the kids that their behaviour influences how others remember them and that we can make their memories of us positive or negative.

So Arthur got his “super delicious” cinnamon bun again, but couldn’t finish it as he’d eaten breakfast a short while before:

cinnamonbun

I went for the baked cheesecake.  This was soooooo good.  I’m sitting here trying to think of what more I can say about it but all that comes to mind is “yummmm”.  And I want to give it the credit it deserves by talking about the perfect crust and the juuust right filling:

bakedcheesecake

Mister Nice Guy Lucas recommend the chai he makes and I opted for hazelnut milk.  I love chai and I love hazelnuts but I’ve never combined the two.  The combination of flavours in this hazelnut milk chai were spot on.  Sometimes chai can be a little hit or miss, like too much of this or too little of that.  Not so for  Mister Nice Guy’s chai, for me it was just right:

hazelnutchai

DeeW got the Pink Lemonade cupcake and Husband got the Peppermint Patty cupcake.  They think Mr Nice Guy’s cupcakes are the best ones ever.

I also had a piece of the walnut brownies available to taste.  I’ve never liked brownies much but these were pleasantly lighter than others I’ve tried over the years:

mrniceguybakeshop1

mrniceguybakeshop2

Squeee at the little pink oven set!  I was bidding on an orange 70s version on eBay recently and was devastated when I lost:

mrniceguybakeshop3

Arthur’s review:  “my cinnamon bun was 100 out of 100 again.  So the same as last time. That still means it is very good and both times it was so delicious.  Actually I think today was a bit better because the lady gave me the biggest one.  It tasted delicious like last week.”

I blogged about last week’s visit to Mister Nice Guy’s Bake Shop here.

Mister Nice Guy’s Bake Shop is located at 151 Union Road, Ascot Vale and very close to public transport.  Here is their stockists web page:

http://www.misterniceguy.com.au/stockists/

4 thoughts on “Bribery and a visit to Mister Nice Guy’s Bake Shop

  1. That vegan cheesecake really looks delicious and so does the chai. I like chai too and as you said sometimes it is missing something. I am really impressed with Mr. Nice Guy’s Bake Shop.

I've moved to www.veganopoulous.com ! Please go there :)

