A Sunday afternoon visit to Mister Nice Guy’s Bake Shop

Today’s weather forecast is for 39C (102.2F). It’s the sort of day where we don’t go anywhere.  Unless of course I say to myself “well it’s a Sunday, and a hot Sunday at that, which would mean people probably want to stay home or go to the beach, which means we have a better chance of finding parking near Mister Nice Guy’s Bake Shop and seating for four inside”.  A wise choice, there were loads of free car spaces and we got the bench along the window.  It doesn’t matter that the outside temp was 37C (98.6F) and that I will never go out in hot weather unless I really have to, I wanted to try the pumpkin pie.

DeeW thought the cupcakes display was the best thing ever (which is why she decorated the glass with her fingerprints *cough*).  She selected the ‘vanilla snowman cupcake’:

bakeshopvisit1

Arthur and I said we’d split the cinnamon bun.  This is his styling, because “a fork sticking out of a cinnamon bun makes a very good piece of art.  Mummy, take a photo”:

bakeshopvisit4

The amazingly good pumpkin pie:

bakeshopvisit3

This was our first visit to the bake shop in Ascot Vale.  I was so happy when I learned this bakery was opening as I don’t live that far away and it’s easy enough to jump on trams with the kids to go out for a special treat.    I’m also really pleased because as the only vegan in my family (DeeW is vegan or vegetarian depending on the day…) I like being able to take them somewhere where they can really enjoy their selection and see that vegan food does not mean you are missing out.

bakeshopvisit2

bakeshopvisit7

bakeshopvisit5

bakeshopvisit6

Over to the judges:

Me: “Love this place, the set up, whatever is on the menu, the decor, the philosophy, the friendly staff.  Definitely a ‘special treat’ place the kids will love.”

Husband: “my cupcake was really very good”.

Arthur: “the cinnamon bun is 100 out of 100 perfect points” (remember folks, this is one tough judge).

DeeW: “my snowman cupcake was DEEEEEEE[…]EEEEEEEEEEEEE[hurry up already]EEEEELICIOUS.  Can we go there again so I can get the green cupcake?”

Mr Nice Guy’s Bake Shop is located at 151 Union Road, Ascot Vale and very close to public transport.  Here is their stockists web page:

http://www.misterniceguy.com.au/stockists/

I’ll definitely be returning, especially if lemon meringue pie is on the menu  🙂

4 thoughts on “A Sunday afternoon visit to Mister Nice Guy’s Bake Shop

  1. The Bakery looks like a winner for sure. I wish that more vegan bakeries would start popping up all over the place. There is one near my house but the hours of operation are very limited.

I've moved to www.veganopoulous.com ! Please go there :)

