Dinner at Madame K’s Vegetarian

This time of year is crazy-busy. I have Christmas events, end of year events, a million birthdays, final classes-of-the-year for the kids and nearly every one of those involves me having to cook or take along a plate.  So I was very pleased to get a night off from cooking and go out to dinner with friends to Madame K’s.

Some of the store window displays along Brunswick Street in Fitzroy:

shopfront1

shopfront2

shopfront3

shopfront4

And Madame K’s itself:

madameks1

I swear I could make my own veganny restauranty version of The Twelve Days of Christmas, because the menu had so much good looking stuff.  Seriously, check out this menu:

http://www.madamek.com.au/online-ordering/

There were four of us and we each chose a different entree to share.  I had the miso glazed eggplant which was lovely but my friends aren’t eggplant eggheads like me:

misoeggplant

N chose the chive dumplings (I think).  These were amazing, I could eat a whole barrel.  I dropped some dumpling in the dipping sauce, because I’m stylish like that:

dumplings1

K went for the roti and peanut sauce.  Sure, roti is plain but it’s delicious nonetheless.  Another barrel for me please:

rotipeanutsauce

H ordered the curry puffs.  Curry filling stuffed in pastry.  No more needs to be said.  Well, apart from ONE MORE BARREL:

currypuffs

Choosing a main was really tough.  I was torn between the Japanese vegetarian curry and the Massaman ‘lamb’ curry with mashed sweet potato.  I have not had a good Massaman curry in so so long so I went for that instead.  Yep, completely forgetting I should be ordering gluten free.  Whoops.  But it didn’t affect me really.  Anyway, this dish did not disappoint.  The only thing about dishes like this with something that looks so much like meat is that I feel weird eating it.  I’ve never felt I needed a meat replacement and mock meat isn’t really my thing, but I was very happy with this dish and for me it just stood out on its own and not necessarily as a ‘great mock meat meal’.  H had a piece of the mock meat (she’d never tried it before) and remarked it was way better than what she expected.  Sorry, I only have this photo as the other was too blurry:

massamancurry

H ordered the Mushroom Lover.  We were all a bit taken aback at the soupy kind of consistency but I think she enjoyed it.  I didn’t try it as anything other than button and portobello mushrooms freak me waaaay out:

mushroomlover

K got the nasi goreng, I tried some and hope that when I go there with Husband, he will order it so I can annoyingly pick at his plate:

nasigoreng

N got a stir fry which looked great:

stirfry

We didn’t go for dessert, I was too stuffed anyway!

Everything was pretty much great.  The only downside would be that two entrees came out first, the third arrived five minutes later and the fourth arrived so late that we got a surprise when it was brought to our table.  Two main meals arrived first, the third main in just under ten minutes later and the fourth main was again considerably later.  We weren’t unhappy though, as only one person was dealing with orders (a second was bringing food out) and considering she had to deal with so much and did it all with a smile and general coolness, it was all good.

I didn’t get to snoop around and check out the toilet and accessibility situation so all I remember is that you can’t split your bills.  And that the bill comes to you in a cutesy kids book.

I’m really hoping I can go back to Madame K’s and soon.  When I’m still drooling over the food the next day, you know it’s a good thing.

Okay, I’m off to get started on the cleaning the house.  There’s only so much stepping on Lego barefoot that I can take.  Husband has taken the kids to my inlaws so you know what that means: Poison and Skid Row full blast.  Rock on, hair metal lovers!

5 thoughts on “Dinner at Madame K’s Vegetarian

  1. Those shops look like so much fun. And that food! Jealous!! I started to read the menu but I had to stop, because I obviously won’t get to try it! It looks incredible! I have a lot of cleaning to do too! I’ll maybe blast some Nirvana. 🙂

  2. I love Madame K’s! I reckon the Massaman lamb curry and and chicken rice are probably my favourite. Best of all, we live in their delivery zone. 😀 😀 😀

I've moved to www.veganopoulous.com ! Please go there :)

