Gyros Roasted Tempeh inspired by Vegan Eats World

So after my gyros seitan experience, I was determined to make the recipe again with firm pressed tofu.  But today I thought why not tempeh?

I gathered the same ingredients for the Lemon Olive Chickpea Seitan from Vegan Eats World but this time I got a 250g block of tempeh:

gyros tempeh

The measurements were not those listed in the book but I used about 1tsp olive tapenade + good pinch of lemon zest + 1/4 tsp salt + 3 large garlic cloves (minced) + 1Tbs nutritional yeast + 1 small handful of cooked chickpeas + 1tsp each of dried thyme and dried oregano.

(before all this though, I steamed the block of seitan)

Okay, so I finely chopped the cooled tempeh, lightly mashed the chickpeas then mixed everything together.  Made one loaf shape, cut it in strips and then put it in the marinade.  The marinade was simple: some olive oil + a shake of ground cumin + 2 cloves of minced garlic + 1tsp dried oregano + juice of a medium size lemon + a little vegie broth.

The tempeh became a bit too soft and I wasn’t able to flip it over during baking without mooshing it all up.  I thought it would eventually go all crispy but it didn’t.  Not to worry, it still tasted good in a pita with lettuce and tomato!

Gyros Roasted Tempeh

I think this will taste better with a firm tofu that has been pressed– I’ll try that later in the week.  See you then!

I've moved to www.veganopoulous.com ! Please go there :)

