Gyros Roasted Seitan from Vegan Eats World

I was so happy when my copy of Terry Hope Romero’s ‘Vegan Eats World’ arrived.  What a gorgeous looking book.  Hardcover too!  I raced ahead flipping through the pages and had to say to myself now now Vegan Opoulous, hold your donkeys.  SO MUCH STUFF in this book looks absolutely divine. I had read about the gyros recipe before the book was released and have been itching to try it.

The recipe is really straightforward but does involve having made some seitan already.  So I had to go and make that first from another recipe in the book.  Traditional Greek flavours like thyme, garlic and lemon are used.

You then slice the cooled steamed seitan and marinate/roast the seitan strips. Terry recommends preparing the seitan dough a day ahead to allow the flavours to develop.  I was going to do this then remembered Husband will be out for lunch and dinner tomorrow.  So as Rod Stewart said in that ever-so-slightly-creepy song, tonight’s the night.

I served it up in a pita bread with tomato and salad greens.  I forgot to buy stuff to make a garlic sauce:

gyros roasted seitan

To be honest I was disappointed with the texture/firmness (my fault, I think the dough was too moist) but I won’t be making it again because I end up with stomach aches whenever I have vital wheat gluten.  Boo.  So no more seitan or VWG for me.  This is in no way the fault of the recipe, in fact I thought the flavours were magnificent and I’ll definitely utilise them in other recipes, like baked tofu.  I loved the crispy burnt bits.  I’m more disappointed to be missing out on this in the future as it really is a great recipe and Terry has done a super job with it!

“let me help with your gluten sensitivity!”

Yia sou!

2 thoughts on “Gyros Roasted Seitan from Vegan Eats World

I've moved to www.veganopoulous.com ! Please go there :)

