Unintentional Twice-baked Pineapple Upside Down Cake

No, the twice-baked bit isn’t the magic secret.  This cake was twice baked because after I cut it up and served it, I noticed the middle was completely uncooked.  A bit of whoops. This was despite the insert-a-skewer test of doneness.  Obviously I didn’t insert the skewer in the exact centre of the cake, just everywhere else.

This is what it looked like before the second baking *cough* I used a star shaped cake tin (not a springform) so I could only fit one complete pineapple ring in the centre:

pineappleupsidecake

The cake was based on  this recipe from the Vegan Society website.  I didn’t have any applesauce so I used half a cup of vegan mango-peach yoghurt instead.  I also cut down the sugar to a little less than one cup.

Next time I won’t do the vegan margarine + brown sugar step for the gooey sticky part.  I might use the juice from the pineapple slices and some golden syrup instead.  Because I used the yoghurt the cake turned out that nice moist-yoghurt-cake soft so next time I’ll halve the oil and see how it turns out.  I’ll also use a different flour.  Today I used regular unbleached white flour, which I never ever use but I found a packet in the freezer and decided to make this cake as a test run for DeeW’s birthday which is coming up soon.  She requested a mango cake so I thought I’d make a mango upside down cake and make a pineapple upside down cake today as a trial.

Arthur and DeeW helped with this.  Did you know that there’s this whole awe thing involved with putting the pineapple slices in the cake tin and filling the gaps with pitted cherries?

The Critic’s Choice:

Arthur: “10 out of 10, the raw cake was good but the cooked cake was more delicious”.

DeeW: “I want the cherry part.  No, don’t put a cherry on it, I want a slice that already has the cherry stuck in it.”

I've moved to www.veganopoulous.com ! Please go there :)

