Vegan Easy Market and ALV Christmas Celebration

Today I headed off to the Eco Centre in St. Kilda where the Vegan Easy Market and Animal Liberation Victoria Christmas Celebration were being held.  What a great day!  My friends and I arrived around midday.  Naturally, I headed right for the food.

Lunch was sausage sizzle (if you’re reading from another part of the world, a sausage sizzle is a barbequed sausage on a piece of bread).  Add onions if you have gourmet tastes like me:

sizzle1

 Try to stop your sausage from flopping to one side while you take a photo of it:

sizzle2

Tasty delights at the bake sale table:

bakesale

Mel, The Kind Cook, made some fabbo gingerbread peeps:


gingerbread

I also watched Patty Mark’s ‘TofuTurkey’ cooking demo.  Yay for front row seats, you get the best view and the best whiffs of awesome smelling food:

tofuturkey1
tofuturkey1b

tofuturkey2

We finished off with pizzas from the nearby Mr. Natural Vegetarian Pizza joint and ate them by the beach.  I went for a pizza topped with mushroom, onion, bean sprouts, corn, green capsicum, beans and tofu (no vegan cheese for me as it was a couple bucks extra and I’m not a huge fan anyway).  Lots of vegie goodness in there but next time I might go for the lentil dhal or something plainer like a vegan hawaiian pizza.  And take a better photo:

pizza1

Okay, time to go finish off a fabulous day with some green tea and a Leda chocolate biscuit (yeah, my healthy eating was sort of accidentally forgotten today).

3 thoughts on “Vegan Easy Market and ALV Christmas Celebration

I've moved to www.veganopoulous.com ! Please go there :)

