Veganissimo! for NYE: scallion pancakes, Lancashire Hotpot and Lemon Self Saucing Pudding

I’m really enjoying Leigh Drew’s Veganissimo!  I’ve already blogged about the Chocolate Mousse Tart (YUM) and today I made a few more recipes.

First up were the Scallion (spring onion) Pancakes.  Very easy to make and I halved the recipe as I only had a few skinny spring onions.  I didn’t make the suggested dipping sauce, instead I mixed up some soy sauce with kecap manis.  Yum!

scallion pancakes

For dinner I made the Lancashire Hotpot, using the suggested tip for a ‘hotpot pie’ by putting some pastry on top.  I had some puff pastry to use up.  First you cook everything up in a pot: carrots, celery, leek, onion, mushrooms then add your extra bits and some canned beans (I used butter beans).  Easy!  Here’s the hotpot before I put the pastry on:

vegan lancashire hotpot

Cooked!

vegan lancashire hotpot

2 4 6 8 bog in don’t wait:

vegan lancashire hotpot

Truthfully this is the second time I’ve made the Lancashire Hotpot, the first time was without the pastry top but my photos turned out so terribly bad, worse than usual, that I decided to make it all over again  ;)

 

I’m a sucker for self saucing puddings.  I think they’re the reason why I am so slack with giving up sugar.  I was happy to see this recipe in Veganissimo! because I LOOOOVE lemon saucy puddings.  Again, this was very easy to make.  I did have the “am I doing something wrong here” moment when I made up the batter because it was way runny compared to every other self saucing pudding I’ve made.  I cooked it for about eight minutes longer than suggested (and the pudding sprang back, as the recipe says).  The bit between the cakey part and sauce on the bottom worried me for a minute because I wasn’t sure if it was uncooked batter, but after about forty minutes in the oven and the batter being not-high to begin with, it was certainly cooked.  Any longer and the sauce would have really dried out.  I’m wondering if I actually overcooked it.  Oh well, I gobbled it down regardless.  I think it would go so well with coconut icecream which alas, I don’t have:

lemonsaucepudding

Thanks Leigh, if you ever read this!  I’m loving these recipes :D

We’re not doing all that much tonight (New Years Eve), the plans are for the kids to stay up late watching a couple of movies then we will go fireworks hunting.  Which means we’ll probably end up in a shabby suburban park somewhere, watching silly people set off pissweak fireworks.  Our house is at the higher point of a hill and we get a good view of the city, so hopefully we can just walk to the end of the street and see the official, legal fireworks there.

So long (for now) and have a fab New Years Eve!

tsom

 

17 thoughts on “Veganissimo! for NYE: scallion pancakes, Lancashire Hotpot and Lemon Self Saucing Pudding

  1. Happy 2014! The self-saucing pudding looks really great, overcooked or not. I can’t decide which I like better – choc or lemon. They’re both so good! I hope you have a fantastic year, full of fun family exercise, light on social media, but especially with lots of delicious and healthy food :)

    • Thanks! I’m not a fan of chocolate but must admit I do like a chocolate self saucing pudding. I think it’s just the saucy bit really. Years ago (non-vegan days) I made lovely chocolate mini cakes with a fudge centre and a sauce. I got rid of most of my non-vegan cookbooks before noting down recipes, doh.

  2. happy new year veganopoulous – I really want to make those spring onion pancakes some times – yours look great as does all the food – we just had a nice dinner last night and never turned on the tv despite plans

I've moved to www.veganopoulous.com ! Please go there :)

