World Vegan Day 2013 and more info on Loving Hut in Northcote

Today my sister and I headed off to World Vegan Day here in Melbourne.  The start time was advertised at 10am so we figured we’d “get there early before the crowds”.  About fifty million other people had the same brilliant idea.

It was difficult to take photos inside as there were people everywhere and I was conscious of stopping the flow of traffic in the aisles, which unfortunately (in my opinion) were a bit too squishy.  It was a good decision to leave the kids at home and I felt for the people with prams! Personally, I preferred last year’s set up outdoors (though some people prefer the indoor arrangement).  I don’t like crowds much and I had a shopping basket with me today and at times it was really difficult to move around. So I apologise for the lack of photos:

wvd8

First off: lunch!  I feel a bit silly not knowing the name of this business, but my sister and I had some dumplings and shared a Vietnamese pancake.  Both meals were delicious:

wvd7

wvd6

We polished it off with a Bounty (coconut flavour) gelato in a waffle cone from Fritz Gelato:

wvd1

Here are some of the exhibitors.  One of my go-to stores, Global  Green Vegetarian Food Mart in Braybrook:

wvd9

Gorgeous soaps from High Tea in the Bath:

wvd3

I bought a stainless steel straw, though I was eyeing off the glass straw:

wvd4

The fabulous Al Nada sweets were on offer:

wvd2

I came home with a stainless steel straw for my juices and smoothies, a Mac and Cheese from Bed and Broccoli and some Fresh Ginger ginger ale.  I tried all the ginger ale samples and decided the Jasmine Tea was my favourite, though all were delicious:

wvd5

wvdpurchases

Ideally I would have liked to do a few more laps of all the stalls as I felt I had rushed through due to the crowds but I started feeling a bit too ‘over it’ (ditto for my sister) and so we decided to go home.  I do appreciate the work involved in organising an event like this, but for me last year’s outdoor setup was lovely as lots of people were lounging around on picnic blanket.  There was more room for the queues too.

Now on to the info about Loving Hut Northcote that is opening soon.  An exhibitor told me that the Northcote restaurant will feature more European style dishes like pasta.  I’m pretty sure she said French and Italian influenced.  I’m curious to see what they’ll be serving though we still don’t know when they’ll be open for business.

Did you go to a World Vegan Day?

16 thoughts on “World Vegan Day 2013 and more info on Loving Hut in Northcote

  1. Love your promptness! I had to miss it in favour of training so I was super excited to get home and see your review already up! I’m not amazing with crowded crowds so I’m not regretting missing it, sadly!

  2. Crowds – a hassle to be part of and yet it is great that world vegan day is popular – I had thought of going but we had a family lunch on so it just didn’t fit with our schedule as per usual – one year I hope to get there. Hope the straw cleans well – we had a few plastic ones that seem a bit manky to me and I don’t know how to clean inside them – would have loved the ginger beer tasting

    • I was happy to see the amount of people in terms of support but not when they were crowded around the food places so I couldn’t see what was on offer :P I didn’t even think of how to clean the straw, whoops…

  3. I’ve heard many people saying that the venue was too small this year. I suppose the plus side is that so many people are interested in veganism!

    I’ve never been before – my first couple of years of being vegan I wasn’t really aware of all the cool stuff happening and places to go, and by the time I was I had moved to Tasmania! But from the pictures I’ve seen, it definitely looked better and more open when they had outdoor section at Abbotsford convent. Hopefully I’ll get a chance to go next year, so I can eat myself silly!

  4. I am glad you posted because even though I was there I didn’t see half the things you did because it was so crowded! Nice that it is popular but the venue was a bit of a disaster,

I've moved to www.veganopoulous.com ! Please go there :)

