Spiced Sweet Potato Blondies from Vegan Cookies Invade Your Cookie Jar

(subtitled ‘Where Veganopoulous steals from the children’)

Tomorrow we’re going to a small event with a few other families, where the invitation says to bring a plate to share.  I immediately thought of a fruit platter but someone beat me to it.  So my mind wandered to the roast sweet potatoes I’d just pureed and was getting ready to freeze.  I’m going to start using sweet potato more in my baked treats, but that’s a blog post for another day.

Anyway, I remembered a sweet potato recipe from Isa Chandra M”s and Terry Hope R’s ‘Vegan Cookies Invade Your Cookie Jar’, specifically, the Spiced Sweet Potato Blondies.  I had all the ingredients available except chocolate chips, though these are listed as optional.  I also omitted the pecans (or walnuts) as I avoid using nuts when taking food somewhere involving children, unless I’ve been told nobody present has an allergy and that nuts are okay.  Instead of the nuts and optional choc chips, I added sultanas.

This recipe was super simple to make.  I did change the sugars– I used a combination of coconut sugar and raw sugar.  My cooking time took quite a while longer but I would blame my oven, not the recipe:

sweetpotatoblondies

The taste is great and I love the coconut sugar.  But when I cut off the edges to eat them myself, the blondies were just waaay too sweet.  Sweet enough for me to decide not to serve them to kids.  Perhaps changing the sugars is to blame but next time I make these, I’m going to halve the sugar, maybe more.  They do taste good though and I would be happy to make a far less sweet version again to serve to kids (I’d make a gluten free version as well).  I’d probably play around with cutting the oil down as well.

4 thoughts on “Spiced Sweet Potato Blondies from Vegan Cookies Invade Your Cookie Jar

  1. nothing worse than an oversweet cake – what do you do with it? mix it with a bitter chocolate to make truffles? I made sweet potato brownies from Ricki Heller’s new cookbook recently (am writing about it tomorrow) and they were really lovely if you want some sweet potato recommendations

    • Welllllll to be honest the sweet potato idea came from that book, my copy recently arrived and I ordered some of the ingredients but they didn’t arrive in time (woohoo garfava flour!) I really am looking forward to using Ricki’s recipes though I won’t be using yacon syrup as I can’t justify $30 or so for a small bottle :(

I've moved to www.veganopoulous.com ! Please go there :)

